APA Handbook of Forensic Neuropsychology by
Clinical neuropsychology is a constantly evolving specialty, with important and exciting advances in many aspects of practice, and the application of clinical neuropsychology to forensic questions and issues is growing at a tremendous rate. This handbook covers the scientific and clinical neuropsychological advances and their application in forensic contexts. To accomplish this goal, the handbook: Presents the theoretical, statistical, and ethical foundations of forensic neuropsychology. Describes current assessment measures and procedures employed in forensic neuropsychology, with an emphasis on their empirical evidence base. Integrates recently published empirical literature involving commonly encountered disorders and special populations. Describes reporting, admissibility, and testimony issues involving neuropsychology in forensic matters. Describes future directions involving the intersection of clinical neuropsychology and legal matters.
Clinical Neuropsychology : A Pocket Handbook for Assessment by
This bestselling, comprehensive assessment guide has been thoroughly updated to reflect the latest changes in the rapidly maturing field of clinical neuropsychology. This third edition expertly leads neuropsychologists and trainees through the complicated process of assessing, diagnosing, and treating an enormous range of neurologic, neuropsychological, psychiatric, and behavioral disorders and syndromes. New chapters in this edition cover emerging areas such as cultural neuropsychology and somatic disorders, and emphasize newly discovered links between drug abuse and impulse control disorders, while diagnostic information has been updated throughout to reflect the newest DSM-5 criteria. Readers will also gain access to a cache of tools and supplementary material on the APA website, including videos of assessment techniques, audio samples of language deficiencies, and a wealth of diagrams and images that draw upon the latest brain imaging technologies. It is appropriate for neuropsychologists across all health care settings -- from emergency rooms, oncology departments, and infectious disease programs, in cardiology, neurology, neurosurgery and psychiatry departments.
Encyclopedia of Clinical Neuropsychology by
The Encyclopedia of Clinical Neuropsychology is the first and only encyclopedia covering assessment, treatment, and rehabilitation of adult and pediatric neuropsychological disorders. The new and revised 2nd edition includes 100 new entries and extensive updates and revisions. Clinical neuropsychology is a rapidly evolving specialty whose practitioners serve patients with traumatic brain injury, stroke and other vascular impairments, brain tumors, epilepsy and nonepileptic seizure disorders, developmental disabilities, progressive neurological disorders, HIV- and AIDS-related disorders, and dementia. Services include evaluation, treatment, and case consultation in child, adult, and the expanding geriatric population in medical and community settings. The clinical goal always is to restore and maximize cognitive and psychological functioning in an injured or compromised brain. Most neuropsychology reference books focus primarily on assessment and diagnosis, and to date none has been encyclopedic in format. Clinicians, patients, and family members recognize that evaluation and diagnosis is only a starting point for the treatment and recovery process. During the past decade there has been a proliferation of programs, both hospital- and clinic-based, that provide rehabilitation, treatment, and treatment planning services. This encyclopedia will serve as a unified, comprehensive reference for professionals involved in the diagnosis, evaluation, and rehabilitation of adult patients and children with neuropsychological disorders. From the reviews of the first edition: "This a A to Z approach to defining clinical psych and clinical neuropsychology terms. ... recommend this as a reference for Clinical Neuropsychologists." Joseph J. Grenier, Amazon.com, February, 2014 "An indispensable four-volume reference series, which both established and up-and-coming neuropsychologists will find to be an invaluable addition to their clinical practice. Clinicians across a broad range of settings ... will find it to be a comprehensive reference guide. ... Each entry provides cross-references to related topic areas within the series, as well as additional readings, for the interested reader to use as a springboard to expand their understanding of each topic area." Sarah E. Bullard, Mélina Griss, Sonia Greene and Anna Gekker, Archives of Clinical Neuropsychology, November, 2012 "This book is the most comprehensive text ever published in the field of clinical neuropsychology. ... If I had to select only one book to have on my desk, in my office, this would be the one." Amazon.com, December, 2010.
The Neuropsychology Handbook by
The new edition of this basic reference for the practicing clinical and behavioral neuropsychologist and text for graduate student expands its coverage of the major areas in which clinical neuropsychologists work. Specific areas covered include: . ? the foundations of clinical neuropsychology, such as the neuropsychological basic of mental abilities, diagnostic decision-making, and symptom validity testing. ? neuroimaging. ? behavioral change following traumatic brain injury. ? disability determination and rehabilitation planning. ? clinical neuropsychology with children. ? clinical neurotoxicology. ? neuropsychological assessment in criminal law cases. This new edition will take its place as a standard reference for professionals and students in the field but should also be of considerable value and interest to other professionals in outlying fields who rely on neuropsychological opinions, such as psychiatrists, neurologists, clinical psychologists, school psychologists, social workers, counselors, and special educators
