Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural School Psychology by
With contributions from leading school psychology practitioners, this encyclopedia provides a one-of-a-kind guide to cross-cultural school psychology. Some 400 entries explore concepts, themes, and the latest research findings to answer your questions in all aspects of the field. Moreover, the encyclopedia offers support at all levels of primary and secondary education, from pre-K to 12th grade. Each entry offers a description of a particular term, a bibliography, and additional readings. The editor is widely known for her bi-weekly Spanish-language columns and her appearances on television and radio as a cross-cultural expert.
Handbook of Education Policy Research by
Co-published by Routledge for the American Educational Research Association (AERA) Educational policy continues to be of major concern. Policy debates about economic growth and national competitiveness, for example, commonly focus on the importance of human capital and a highly educated workforce. Defining the theoretical boundaries and methodological approaches of education policy research are the two primary themes of this comprehensive, AERA-sponsored Handbook. Organized into seven sections, the Handbook focuses on (1) disciplinary foundations of educational policy, (2) methodological perspectives, (3) the policy process, (4) resources, management, and organization, (5) teaching and learning policy, (6) actors and institutions, and (7) education access and differentiation. Drawing from multiple disciplines, the Handbook's over one hundred authors address three central questions: What policy issues and questions have oriented current policy research? What research strategies and methods have proven most fruitful? And what issues, questions, and methods will drive future policy research? Topics such as early childhood education, school choice, access to higher education, teacher accountability, and testing and measurement cut across the 63 chapters in the volume. The politics surrounding these and other issues are objectively analyzed by authors and commentators. Each of the seven sections concludes with two commentaries by leading scholars in the field. The first considers the current state of policy design, and the second addresses the current state of policy research. This book is appropriate for scholars and graduate students working in the field of education policy and for the growing number of academic, government, and think-tank researchers engaged in policy research. For more information on thenbsp;American Educational Research Association,nbsp;please visit:nbsp;http://www.aera.net/.
The Handbook of International School Psychology by
The Handbook of International School Psychology provides a description of the specialty of psychology devoted to the provision of services to children and youth, their teachers, and parents around the world. Authors from more than 40 countries provide valuable information and insights regarding the following areas: the context of school psychology; the origin, history, and current status of school psychology; the infrastructure of school psychology; the preparation of school psychologists; the roles, functions, and responsibilities of school psychologists; current issues impacting school psychology; and important references. The chapters in this Handbook characterize the specialty of school psychology as one that collectively provides individual assessment of children who may display cognitive, emotional, social, or behavioral difficulties; develops and implements primary and secondary intervention programs; consults with teachers, parents and other relevant professionals; engages in program development and evaluation; conducts research; and helps prepare and supervise others. The Handbook also includes a section consisting of chapters that review the key considerations of school psychology internationally and trends influencing school psychology's international development, including: chapters that discuss the past, present, and future of the International School Psychology Association (ISPA); findings from the International School Psychology Survey that examine characteristics and responsibilities of school psychologists, and a summary and synthesis of the information in the Handbook. This is an ideal resource for scholars, practitioners, and graduate students interested in acquiring an international view of school psychology along with psychology, education-- including special education, and mental health.
Handbook of School Mental Health : Research, Training, Practice, and Policy by
With so few therapeutic outlets readily available to young people, schools have evolved into mental health centers for many students. Yet schools are hampered by limited access to resources needed to provide mental health promotion, prevention, and intervention services. Like its acclaimed predecessor, the Second Edition of the Handbook of School Mental Health offers ways for professionals to maximize resources, make and strengthen valuable connections, and attain more effective school-based services and programming. At the same time, the Handbook provides strategies and recommendations in critical areas, such as workforce development, interdisciplinary collaborations, youth/family engagement, consultation, funding, and policy concerns, summarizes the state of current research, and offers directions for further study. Chapters model best practices for promoting wellness and safety, early detection of emotional and behavioral problems, and school-based interventions for students with anxiety, depression, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, and other common challenges. In spotlighting this range of issues, the contributors have created a comprehensive game plan for advancing the field. Among the Handbook's topics: Pre-service training for school mental health clinicians. Cognitive-behavioral interventions for trauma in schools. Increasing parental engagement in school-based interventions. Models of psychiatric consultation to schools. Culturally competent behavioral and emotional screening. Bullying from a school mental health perspective. Prevention and intervention strategies related to a variety of mental health problems in schools. The Second Edition of the Handbook of School Mental Health is an essential reference for researchers, graduate students, and other professionals in child and school psychology, special and general education, public health, school nursing, occupational therapy, psychiatry, social work and counseling, educational policy, and family advocacy.
