Contemporary Intellectual Assessment, Fourth Edition by
This leading practitioner reference and text--now in a revised and expanded fourth edition--provides the knowledge needed to use state-of-the-art cognitive tests with individuals of all ages, from preschoolers to adults. The volume examines major theories and tests of intelligence (in chapters written by the theorists and test developers themselves) and presents research-based approaches to test interpretation. Contributors address critical issues in evaluating culturally and linguistically diverse students, gifted students, and those with intellectual disability, sensory-motor impairments, traumatic brain injuries, and learning difficulties and disabilities. The fourth edition highlights the use of cognitive test results in planning school-based interventions. New to This Edition *Complete coverage of new or updated tests: WPPSI-IV, WISC-V, WISC-V Integrated, WJ IV, ECAD, CAS2, RIAS-2, KABC-II Normative Update, and UNIT2. *Chapters on cutting-edge approaches to identifying specific learning disabilities and reading disorders. *Chapters on brain imaging, neuropsychological intervention in schools, adult intellectual development, and DSM-5 criteria for learning disorders. *Updated chapters on theories of intelligence, their research base, and their clinical utility in guiding cognitive and neuropsychological assessment practice.
Handbook of nonverbal assessment by
The second edition of this comprehensive volume presents methods for nonverbal assessment of diverse individuals, such as persons with speech or hearing deficits, limited English skills, or emotional problems. Chapters provide a contemporary context for nonverbal evaluations, accompanied by descriptions of best practices in detecting bias in cognitive tests, multicultural assessment, cross-battery assessment of nonverbal cognitive ability, and psychological and physiological influences on assessment. The book discusses nonverbal assessment of cognition and intelligence as well as related domains, such as academic skills, neurocognitive functioning, personality, and behavior issues. Guidelines for using common nonverbal assessment tools and strategies feature the most up-to-date information on administration and scoring, psychometric properties, and strengths and limitations. Best practices for testing diverse children and adults and using reliable, valid, and fair assessment instruments are emphasized throughout the book. Featured instruments in the Handbook include: The Universal Nonverbal Intelligence Test, Second Edition (UNIT2). The newest version of the Leiter International Performance Scale (Leiter-3). The Wechsler Nonverbal Scale of Ability (WNV). The Comprehensive Test of Nonverbal Intelligence, Second Edition (CTONI-2). The Test of Nonverbal Intelligence. The General Ability Measure for Adults (GAMA). The Second Edition of the Handbook of Nonverbal Assessment is a must-have resource for researchers and graduate students in school and clinical child psychology, speech and language pathology, educational technology, social work, and related disciplines as well as clinicians, professionals, and in-service educators of diverse students.
Handbook of Psychological Assessment by
Organized according to the sequence mental health professionals follow when conducting an assessment, Groth-Marnat's Handbook of Psychological Assessment, Sixth Edition covers principles of assessment, evaluation, referral, treatment planning, and report writing. Written in a practical, skills-based manner, the Sixth Edition provides guidance on the most efficient methods for selecting and administering tests, interpreting assessment data, how to integrate test scores and develop treatment plans as well as instruction on ways to write effective, client-oriented psychological reports. This text provides through coverage of the most commonly used assessment instruments including the Wechsler Intelligence Scales, Wechsler Memory Scales, Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory, Personality Assessment Inventory, Millon Clinical Multiaxial Inventory, NEO Personality, Rorschach, Thematic Apperception Test, and brief assessment instruments for treatment planning, monitoring, and outcome assessment.
Assessments in Forensic Practice : A Handbook by
Assessments in Forensic Practice: A Handbook provides practical guidance in the assessment of the most frequently encountered offender subgroups found within the criminal justice system. Topics include: criminal justice assessments offenders with mental disorders family violence policy and practice
Handbook of forensic assessment : psychological and psychiatric perspectives by
Forensic mental health experts have gained increasing visibility in the legal arena, particularly in the area of assessment. "Handbook of Forensic Assessment" addresses this topic from a psychiatric as well as psychological perspective. With contributions from leading psychologists and psychiatrists, this book discusses the interrelationship of the disciplines while offering detailed assessment protocols for a comprehensive range of forensic evaluations. Forensic psychologists are provided with sample reports for selected chapters, demonstrating the integrative as well as independent potential of contributions from both disciplines.
