Libraries: Anti-Bias Resources: Videos

Video Highlights

TED Talks to help you understand racism in America
Dr. Phillip Atiba Goff, Rashad Robinson, Dr. Bernice King and Anthony D. Romero discuss dismantling the systems of oppression and racism responsible for tragedies like the murders of Ahmaud Arbery, Breonna Taylor, George Floyd and far too many others -- and explore how the US can start to live up to its ideals. (This discussion, hosted by head of TED Chris Anderson and current affairs curator Whitney Pennington Rodgers, was recorded on June 3, 2020.)

Race: The Power of an Illusion
RACE: The Power of an Illusion
Since its release in 2003, the series has become one of the most widely used documentaries in formal and non-formal education in the US. Millions of people have used the film to scrutinize their own deep-seated beliefs about race and explore how our social divisions are not natural or inevitable, but made. Now, in 2019, the series remains salient and timely.
more...less...
For more information, visit the site:
https://www.racepowerofanillusion.org/

“Each one of us contributes to the communities and the cultures and the societies that we make up. The end of this spiral of rage and blame begins with one person who refuses to indulge these destructive, seductive impulses. We just have to decide that it's going to start with us.”

Recommended Video Collections

Academic Video Online: Diversity This link opens in a new window
The database features resources that illuminate the challenges, triumphs, and issues facing underrepresented, indigenous, and immigrant communities around the world. Hundreds of documentaries, interviews, biographies, performances, and lectures—which draw heavily on late 20th- and early 21st-century archival text and footage—create a rich platform for examining social, racial, and economic inequalities that shape communities at the local and global levels.
Indexed in OneSearch
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
The database includes 2,000 total hours of streaming video content. More than half is contemporaneous video from the 1890s to the 1980s. The early newsreels, including the complete series of United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel, available online in their entirety only in this collection, capture history as it was made and reported to viewers of the time. American History in Video also includes hundreds of the documentaries most frequently used in history classrooms, from leading video content producers such as PBS, California Newsreel, Bullfrog Films, Documentary Educational Resources, Pennebaker Hegedus Films, The History Channel®, and others.
Indexed in OneSearch
Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Black Studies in Video is a signature Alexander Street collection featuring award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
Indexed in OneSearch
Current Affairs in Video This link opens in a new window
Current Affairs in Video is a unique streaming video resource featuring a collection of issue-based documentaries from around the world. Covering Immigration and Border Studies, Middle East Studies, Urban Studies, Political Science, Globalization, and Human Rights, the films focus on the key issues and events of recent global history.
Indexed in OneSearch
Education in Video (Vol I-II) This link opens in a new window
The database provides resources for both new and experienced teachers tools to increase their knowledge and skills and for education faculty to link abstract theories of education to real-world students and classrooms.
Indexed in OneSearch
Kanopy Streaming Collection This link opens in a new window
The database is a streaming video resource with a board collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources. Kanopy’s website makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films across campus.
Access for some titles is by request
The PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection assembles hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service into one convenient online interface. A core of 245 titles, selected for their high quality and relevance to academic curricula, covers many educational disciplines, including history, science and technology, diversity studies, business, and current events. This collection provides access to the films and series users already know and trust, including Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.
Indexed In OneSearch
SAGE Video: Education Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprised of more than 120 hours and 450 videos, this collection offers a practical view into a full range of teaching settings and situations, from early years to educational leadership, to support students needing to understand theory or how to apply it in practice. Contributors include leading authors Peter Smith on Bullying, Wendy W. Murawski on Co-Teaching, Julia Link Roberts on Gifted and Talented Education, and many more.