PsycTESTS provides detailed information about psychological tests and measurement instruments. Most of the entries contain the full text of the test itself. For the most part, the tests in PsycTESTS are "unpublished" tests that originally appeared in journal articles and not published commercially.
You can search PsycTESTS by keyword, by test title or author, among many other options. If you know the name of the test, enter it in the search box with quotes around the name if it is longer than one word. Change the search field to Test Name-TI.
While the majority of the entries in PsycTests include the full text of the test, not all do so. The entries also include the affiliation and address for the author(s) so you might be able to get a copy of the test by contacting the author(s).
Sometimes you can find a complete test in PsycINFO, but most times they just provide you with information about the test or a shortened version of the test.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) provides test information and some full-text assessments for measures in health and the behavioral sciences.
Enter the name of the test in the search box and change the Field to TI Title. If you are using an acronym, change the field to AC Acronym.
Once you have run the search, some of the individual result entries will say:
You can obtain the measurement instrument at no charge from Behavioral Measurement Database Services using the listed contact information when you see this note. If there is no such note then use the MGetIt button to navigate to the full text of the article to check and see if the measurement instrument is included. Those entries that are listed as "primary source" are more likely to contain the actual test since primary sources are the original sources where the test was first mentioned.
You can search specifically for primary source documents by including the word primary in the search box and limiting the field to TC Source Code.
To obtain a measurement instrument listed in Health and Psychosocial Instruments that is not included in the article and does not indicate that it is available from Behavioral Measurement Data Services, you could try using Google or contacting the author.
To find measures in dissertations using the ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database, type keywords related to your topic and choose "Anywhere except full text - ALL"
Next, type (test OR instrument OR measure OR questionnaire OR survey OR scale)
When searching for instruments in ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, bear in mind that it works best if you know the titles of the instruments for which you are looking.
While it's indexing is extensive, it is focused mainly on finding relevant dissertation full text, not behavioral instruments. So if you don't already know what you are looking for, this is not a good database in which to 'go fishing.'
To use,
1) Enter the title of the instrument you are seeking (enclosed in quotation marks) in the search box & click the Search button to initiate your search.
2) Open the dissertation(s) full text and scroll to the table of contents
3) Locate the Appendices section
4) Locate the title reference to your instrument and note the page reference¹ (*this will be a proximate page reference due to the fact that
5) Scroll to the page and find your instrument
Note: This procedure will help you locate the instrument full text. It will not indicate the copyright status of the instrument. You will need to independently determine copyright status.
Frequently the appendices will include letters granting copyright permission by instrument copyright holders. Where they do, this information can be used to contact copyright holders to request permission for use.
