While our online library catalog, OneSearch, is a good starting point, there is no single website or search box in the world that can help you discover every book and article ever published. Sometimes, to find enough articles for your research paper, you will have to identify specialized databases and if needed narrow them down to specific journals.
The library recommends the following databases that might be relevant to the field of Community Psychology:
This database offers full-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals. Many titles go back to volume 1, issue 1.
This database is a full-text collection of over 1600 books published by APA. Classic books from other publishers are also included, along with over 1,500 authored entries from the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.
The PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
APA PsycTherapy provides therapy demonstration videos specifically developed to enable viewers to observe how therapists spontaneously use different approaches and techniques in practice. The videos provide examples of some of the most renowned therapists working with participants on a host of therapy topics. The more than 550 videos in APA PsycTherapy feature searchable word-for-word transcripts that scroll in sync with the video playback. All videos have also been coded with searchable and browsable index terms and other information about participants, clinical demonstration content, and therapeutic approaches demonstrated by each video. APA PsycTherapy also provides powerful search, clip-making, and playlist capabilities.
(To browse this collection, follow the link above, scroll down, and select "Psychology")
This collection features 134 hours across more than 400 videos, covering different content types that will help users instruct, learn, think deeply, and become even more curious. See professional psychologists in action, such as forensic psychologists working inside a prison, or clinical psychologists treating patients with a variety of mental health disorders; or venture back to the field’s beginnings via footage of John B. Watson or Muzafer Sherif’s early experiments.
(To browse this collection, follow the link above, scroll down, and select "Counseling & Psychotherapy")
This collection of 136 hours and 420 videos draws upon a vast network of SAGE’s authors and editors. It includes many tutorials, such as Mick Cooper on Empathy and Listening, multiple interviews with leading experts such as Jerrold Lee Shapiro on Existential Psychotherapy and John McLeod on Evidence-Based Practice, along with many more films addressing teaching, learning and practitioner issues.
Topics in Psychology may overlap with other complementary subjects. It may be useful to search within a multidisciplinary database/index, or other subject-specific databases.
