While our online library catalog, OneSearch, is a good starting point, there is no single website or search box in the world that can help you discover every book and article ever published. Sometimes, to find enough articles for your research paper, you will have to identify specialized databases and if needed narrow them down to specific journals.
The library recommends the following databases that might be relevant to the field of Human Development:
This database offers full-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals. Many titles go back to volume 1, issue 1.
The PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
The SAGE Video Sociology collection covers the shifting understandings of social identities and the intersections of sociological conditions, from environmental and political to familial and cultural. An array of different video types are available including multiple hours of in-practice footage that showcase how sociological theories and intersections play in the real world context.
Sociology Source Ultimate provides materials for students studying social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology. Content includes 667 active, full-text, peer-reviewed journals as well as 2,500+ sociology videos from leading providers.
This collection includes over 3.600 books and reference works published from 2005 to 2017. Among them are, Encyclopedia of Cognitive Behavior Therapy, Drug and Alcohol Abuse (6th ed.), Handbook of Race-Ethnicity and Gender in Psychology, Fundamentals of Forensic Practice, Handbook of Urban Health, and many more.
The collection provides access to over 1,400 must-have online journals from Routledge, the pioneering social science and humanities publisher. Disciplines include Behavioral Science, Psychology, Education, Mental Health & Social Care, Arts & Humanities, Criminology & Law, Business, Management & Economics, and Anthropology.
Topics in Human Development may overlap with other complementary subjects. It may be useful to search within a multidisciplinary database/index, or other subject-specific databases.
Academic Search Ultimate boasts an extensive collection of 10,033 active full-text journals, a significant portion of which undergo peer review and are featured in prominent citation indexes. It covers a wide range of subject areas offering thousands of international journals to provide global context to research as well as videos to support and enhance the research experience.
ProQuest One Academic is the best destination for multidisciplinary research, teaching and learning. It brings together more than 250 years of authoritative, curated content available across every discipline and format to one place. It encompasses entirety of four resources many researchers and libraries rely upon: ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, ProQuest Dissertation & Theses Global and Academic Video Online, creating a seamless user experience for researchers at all levels.
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. Search results can be sorted in order of Times Cited to see the most important articles first. This is not a Full Text Database. Some items covered by this database are not currently available in full text but may be requested through inter-library loan.
