Skip to Main Content

OpenAthens & Linking

OpenAthens

The TCS Education System (TCSES) Libraries will be migrating to OpenAthens, a new authentication service that will improve security and access control of library resources, reduce service interruptions, integrate with the institutions' single sign-on (SSO) services, and provide usage data. While OpenAthens will become the primary authentication platform, the libraries will still maintain their current system, EZProxy, as a backup and failover authentication system.

When will the change happen?

Starting June 8, 2022, all eResources will begin to shift from EZProxy to OpenAthens. 

What does this mean for you?

  • Keep using the TCSES Libraries Shared eResources page to access the shared databases. They will be set to use the new authentication system
  • When prompted, enter your school's credentials; If you are used to logging in via EZProxy, the experience will remain similar. For some of the vendors, you might need to look for the Login via Institution button
  • The libraries will still maintain EZProxy as a back up and failover system.

In most cases logging into a library database will look the same as it always has. For example, logging in from the A-Z database list will lead you to the familiar login screen and then directly to the resource.

In a few cases, such as with EBSCO databases, the login might look a little different. After clicking on the database link...

You will need to click the "Institutional Login" link on the EBSCO page that follows before being taken to the usual login screen.

Alternative Login Options

One thing that is new with OpenAthens is the option to login directly through the public facing website of a database.

  1. For example, if I Google Taylor and Francis Online and go to their public facing site I can then click the Log In button.
  2. From there I select the "Access through your Institution" option
  3. Next, I type in the name of my institution - TCS Education System - and click or enter.
  4. If I haven't logged in anywhere else then I'll be taken to the school login page. If I have already logged in during this session then I'll automatically bypass this page.
  5. And then I'll have access to the school's content on the Taylor and Francis site.

To use the OpenAthens Link Generator:

  1. Go to: https://go.openathens.net/generate/tcsedsystem.edu/72355083
  2. Paste a permalink or stable URL for the resource you would like to link to in the box and press enter.
  3. Copy the generated URL.
  4. Use the copied URL to link to the source.
  5. Test the link or have someone else test the link!
  6. Note that some resources automatically produce a permalink and erase the need for creating an OpenAthens secure link. ProQuest and EBSCOHost resources include the ability to create permalinks.
  7. Find resource specific instructions for creating stable links here: How to Create Stable Links to Library Resources

Multiple URLs can be created at one time.

Be sure to test your new links before saving/sharing!

  • For the best linking experience we recommend using Firefox and Microsoft Edge.

  • If you use Google Chrome or experience issues with other browsers you will need to clear your browsing history and reset your cookies under the settings for your browser.

Many (though not all!) of your saved links will still work after the transition to OpenAthens. However we encourage users to update their links for more reliable access. There are several ways you can do this. First, you can replace old links with links from the library's catalog using the following steps:

  1. After locating the item in OneSearch, click on the 3 dots in the right corner of the search result.
  2. Next click on the button labeled permalink.
  3. Finally, click "Copy the Permalink to Clipboard" and then paste that wherever you are keeping your links.

It will require 1 extra click for you and others to access the full text, however this permalink from the catalog will always be the most reliable.

 

It is also possible in some cases to link directly to full text. 

While every database or resource is different many will include a "friendly" URL or permalink button that will allow you to copy a URL that can be shared with other users. 

These permalinks will sometimes include the link in your browser search bar however please note that this link is not always shareable and may not work for other users. Be sure to test these links in another browser or incognito window before saving or sharing. 

 

Another way to create a persistent link that is compatible with OpenAthens is by using the OpenAthens Link Generator Tool. 
(Please note that this tool will not work for ProQuest, EBSCO, Gale, or Kanopy links.)

To use the OpenAthens Link Generator:

  1. Go to https://go.openathens.net/generate/tcsedsystem.edu/72355083
  2. Paste a permalink or stable URL for the resource you would like to link to in the box and press enter.
  3. Copy the generated URL.
  4. Use the copied URL to link to the source.

Multiple URLs can be created at one time.

Be sure to test your new links before saving/sharing!

Why is the library using OpenAthens?
OpenAthens offers greater security, control, and reliability. For user in particular, the addition of OpenAthens will help prevent downtimes due to authentication system issues.

Will I need a new username and password?
No. The username and password that you use for all other school systems will work with OpenAthens.

Will signing in to library resources be any different?
In most cases, no. Follow this link to learn more about signing in with OpenAthens.

How long until users are logged out due to inactivity? 
An OpenAthens session will last for up to 8 hours. Keep in mind that if you switch browsers or delete your cookies you will need to log in again.

What do I do if my saved links or bookmarks no longer work?
Follow this link for tips on how to save or create new links.

What about privacy?
Please visit OpenAthens privacy pages at: https://www.openathens.net/privacy/

Please feel free to report any broken links or problems and a member of our staff will get back to you shortly.

 

You can also reach out to us via email.