Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Pacific Oaks College Library: Library Services

Welcome to the Andrew Norman Library at Pacific Oaks College

Library Policies and Procedures

Library Accessibility

The Pacific Oaks library is committed to ensuring that its collections and services are accessible to all patrons.  Specialized services are available to students with additional accessibility needs.

Library Environment

The library maintains wheelchair accessible desks, aisles, computer terminals, reference and check-out locations.  All computers are equipped with screen-reading software, with accessibility features enabled. Additionally, at least one station is dedicated specifically to students with accessibility needs.

Accessing Materials

Library staff are available at all times to assist individuals with challenges related to vision or mobility in locating and retrieving materials.  If special arrangements or extended time with staff are necessary, individuals are encouraged to contact the library in preparation for their visit(s).

Additional Services

The library offers on-site checkout of an Intel Reader™ to assist students with visual or other reading-related challenges.  Availability of this device is restricted specifically to students requiring accessibility assistance. 

Library Services

Circulation
All Pacific Oaks students have access to the library’s print and electronic collections whether on campus or at a distance.  The Pacific Oaks library specializes in subjects related to human development across the lifespan, early childhood education and psychosocial development, special education, classroom curricula (K-12), psychology, and family therapy.


Pacific Oaks Student ID Cards serve as library cards; items may be checked out in person or shipped (to students outside a 25-mile radius from the main campus) to a student’s address of record.  Requests for item shipping or other circulation needs may be placed in person, by phone, or via email.


Check out periods vary depending on the type of material.  Textbooks required for classes are placed on reserve and allow a 3-day check out for up to 5 items. Books in the regular collection can be checked out for three weeks at a time.  Both reserve and general collection books can be renewed up to 5 times as long as no other patron has put in a hold request.
Check the library's Policy and Procedures for more specific circulation information, including fees and fines.


Reference Services
A reference librarian is available on a drop-in or appointment basis Tuesday-Saturday, though the scheduling of appointments is strongly recommended.The goal of the academic reference transaction is to impart information retrieval skills to patrons so that they may access material on their own.
Librarians who provide reference service do not supply answers to students' assignments, do students' research, or compile bibliographies of information sources, and they typically refer patrons to the IT department concerning computer hardware and software questions. Reference personnel are also available to provide instruction in beginning to intermediate research practices, including navigation of academic databases and the library's website.


Interlibrary Loan

Students may request inter-library loans of electronic journal articles or book chapters (but not entire books) through the “fetch” function in the Library’s database search function, OneSearch. Please contact the Library for help


Classroom Instruction
Pacific Oaks has a librarian dedicated to reference and instructional services. Working closely with faculty, our instructional services librarian provides in-class instruction. Faculty interested in scheduling classroom-based or library-based instruction are encouraged to contact the library well in advance of the desired instruction date.  Instructors are encouraged to visit the library's page dedicated to Faculty for more information.

Frequently Asked Questions

Inland Empire Academic Library Consortia

The Inland Empire Academic Library Consortia (IEALC) is a group of academic libraries within the Inland Empire service area. Pacific Oaks students may apply for a reciprocal borrowing card good at the following area academic institutions. 

  • Azusa Pacific University
  • Biola University
  • California Baptist College
  • California State University San Bernardino
  • Citrus College
  • Crafton Hills College
  • Hope International University
  • Mount San Antonio College
  • Mount San Jacinto College
  • Southern California University of Health Sciences
  • University of La Verne
  • University of Redlands
  • Victor Valley College
  • Western University of Health Sciences