Pacific Oaks College Library: Videos

Academic Video Online: Premium consists of more than 70,000 streaming video titles spanning a wide range of subjects including art, anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Black Studies in Video is a signature Alexander Street collection featuring award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.

Business Education in Video features executive interviews, corporate training video, case studies, How To features and documentary films that focus on all aspects of the global business environment.

Formerly Volumes I & II, Classic’s 500+ hours of video provide a firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. The collection features world-renowned therapists such as Albert Ellis, Violet Oaklander, Derald Wing Sue, and John Norcross demonstrating their methods and techniques. Students and faculty will also find documentaries on the human condition, which help with training in skills such as reflection and empathy.

The database includes hundreds of hours of video for professionals and students in criminal justice and public safety. Documentaries and interviews provide personal field experiences as well as insight into the function and controversies of the justice system. Students will benefit from invaluable training videos that demonstrate how to respond to potentially-dangerous situations, all from the safety of the classroom.

Current Affairs in Video is a unique streaming video resource featuring a collection of issue-based documentaries from around the world. Covering Immigration and Border Studies, Middle East Studies, Urban Studies, Political Science, Globalization, and Human Rights, the films focus on the key issues and events of recent global history.

The database provides resources for both new and experienced teachers tools to increase their knowledge and skills and for education faculty to link abstract theories of education to real-world students and classrooms.

The database contains more than 500 hours of film covering all realms of environmental studies, particularly ethics, policy, economics, law, sociology, planning, and environmental science. The collection addresses specific topics including alternative energy, pollution control, eco-design, sustainability, farming and agriculture, the food industry, LEED certification, waste issues, and climate change.

Ethnographic Video Online is a comprehensive online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork. It’s also a resource for a study of the discipline itself: By placing examples of traditional ethnographic methodologies alongside indigenous-made films representing previously overlooked perspectives, scholars, teachers and students of anthropology can gain a sense of the discipline’s history and of its future direction.

Health and Society in Video defines and explores today’s latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society--with hundreds of premium documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews.

The database is a streaming video resource with a board collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources. Kanopy’s website makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films across campus.

Latin America in Video offers quality original language documentaries from some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The films were produced in Latin America, by Latin Americans, about Latin American issues, such as cultural identity, political history, human rights, popular culture, agribusiness, education, religion, and much more. It brings a comprehensive, exclusive and unique perspective on the region to any library.

The database is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This first-of-its-kind collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics

This collection assembles hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service into one convenient online interface. A core of 245 titles, selected for their high quality and relevance to academic curricula, covers many educational disciplines, including history, science and technology, diversity studies, business, and current events. This collection provides access to the films and series users already know and trust, including Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.

Psychotherapy.net consists of over 200 titles of the leading practitioners in the fields of psychotherapy, counseling, social work and addiction treatment demonstrating clinical techniques and discussing their work.

APA PsycTherapy provides therapy demonstration videos specifically developed to enable viewers to observe how therapists spontaneously use different approaches and techniques in practice. The videos provide examples of some of the most renowned therapists working with participants on a host of therapy topics. The more than 550 videos in APA PsycTherapy feature searchable word-for-word transcripts that scroll in sync with the video playback. All videos have also been coded with searchable and browsable index terms and other information about participants, clinical demonstration content, and therapeutic approaches demonstrated by each video. APA PsycTherapy also provides powerful search, clip-making, and playlist capabilities.

(To browse this collection, follow the link above, scroll down, and select "Counseling & Psychotherapy")

This collection of 136 hours and 420 videos draws upon a vast network of SAGE’s authors and editors. It includes many tutorials, such as Mick Cooper on Empathy and Listening, multiple interviews with leading experts such as Jerrold Lee Shapiro on Existential Psychotherapy and John McLeod on Evidence-Based Practice, along with many more films addressing teaching, learning and practitioner issues.

(To browse this collection, follow the link above, scroll down, and select "Education")

Comprised of more than 120 hours and 450 videos, this collection offers a practical view into a full range of teaching settings and situations, from early years to educational leadership, to support students needing to understand theory or how to apply it in practice. Contributors include leading authors Peter Smith on Bullying, Wendy W. Murawski on Co-Teaching, Julia Link Roberts on Gifted and Talented Education, and many more.

(To browse this collection, follow the link above, scroll down, and select "Psychology")

This collection features 134 hours across more than 400 videos, covering different content types that will help users instruct, learn, think deeply, and become even more curious. See professional psychologists in action, such as forensic psychologists working inside a prison, or clinical psychologists treating patients with a variety of mental health disorders; or venture back to the field’s beginnings via footage of John B. Watson or Muzafer Sherif’s early experiments.

Videatives is a growing database of early childhood education videos and clips. According to their website, the word videative [vid´-é-ã-tive] refers to the combination of text and video segments to create an integrated viewing experience (video + narrative = videative). The text explains the video and the video exemplifies the text. Videatives helps educators see what children know™ and thereby help them better support their learning.

The Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy provides access to the latest research and best practice methods in the fields of counseling, mental health, and psychology through contemporary presentations, lectures, and workshops from renowned counselors, psychologists, and practitioners.