Saybrook Department of Research

STAR Approach to Learning

Based on self-determined learning theory, the STAR approach to learning reflects the core humanistic principles of self-actualization and human growth potential. We acknowledge adult learners as active agents in their personal and professional development, who: 

• Guide/direct their learning based on professional goals

• Gain professional competencies toward an academic career path

• Build capabilities to demonstrate competencies in new professional settings

• Reflect on their learning as a lifelong enterprise

From this perspective, STAR courses refer to students as learners and instructors as facilitators. 

Program Learning Outcomes

STAR Core Courses

Teaching and Instruction for Higher Education (PLOs 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7)

This course provides learners with theoretical understanding and practical skills for effective teaching and instruction in higher education. Learners will understand historical and critical learning theory principles and practice evidence-based instructional strategies to create inclusive, engaging, and student-centered learning experiences. Learners develop a written teaching philosophy. 3.0 credits. Prerequisite: RES 2100. This is a 15-week elective course offered in the Fall.

• CLO1. Understanding Learning Theories - Learners understand the historical development and critical principles of learning theories and frameworks and their impact on teaching practices.
• CLO2. Designing Effective Instruction - Learners design instructional materials that integrate various pedagogical strategies and align with learning objectives for diverse learning styles and needs.
• CLO3. Evaluating and Assessing Learning and Instruction - Learners design and use assessment tools to measure student performance, provide constructive feedback, and evaluate and improve student learning outcomes.
• CLO4. Addressing Diverse Learners - Learners implement strategies to create an equitable learning environment that supports students from diverse backgrounds, supports inclusivity, and promotes belonging.
• CLO5. Incorporating Technology and Innovative Practices - Learners evaluate and incorporate appropriate digital resources and platforms that support various pedagogical approaches and effectively enhance student engagement and learning.
• CLO6. Applying Professional and Ethical Principles - Learners apply professional and ethical guidelines and best practices in teaching and instruction, ensuring fairness and integrity.
• CLO 7: Engaging in Critical Thinking and Self-Reflection - Learners reflect on their teaching practices and develop a written teaching philosophy.

Grant Writing (PLOs 3, 4, 5, 6, 7)

This course prepares learners to identify grants, conduct needs assessments, and develop grant proposals to secure funding for dissertation research, independent research, sponsored projects, or initiatives. Learners learn various aspects of the grant writing process, including understanding grant requirements and ethical practices, developing a budget, and managing the evaluation and revision process. Learners create a professional grant writing toolkit. 3.0 credits. Prerequisite: RES 2100. This is a 15-week elective course offered in the Fall.

• CLO1. Understanding the Grants Landscape - Learners identify different types of grants (e.g., government, foundation, corporate) and their respective funding sources, eligibility criteria, and application processes.
• CLO2. Conducting Needs Assessments and Project Planning - Learners conduct a needs assessment to identify and articulate the problem or need the proposed project aims to address. They develop a logical framework or theory of change that outlines how the proposed project will achieve its goals and objectives.
• CLO3. Developing a Grant Proposal - Learners develop a problem statement, goals and objectives, and a detailed project plan that aligns with the funding agency’s priorities. The plan includes a compelling narrative, clear goals and objectives, a detailed methodology, and a comprehensive budget with justification.
• CLO4. Evaluating and Reporting Requirements - Learners describe common evaluation and reporting requirements of grant-funded projects and outline an evaluation plan that includes measurable outcomes and methods for assessing the proposed project's effectiveness.
• CLO5. Navigating the Grant Submission and Revision Process - Learners use grant management software to submit grant proposals, following the funding agency's specific guidelines and requirements, including formatting and deadlines. They prepare constructive and persuasive responses to reviewer feedback.
• CLO6. Ethical and Compliance Considerations - Learners understand and apply ethical practices, ensuring compliance with legal and regulatory requirements in their grant proposals.
• CLO7. Developing a Grant Writing Toolkit - Learners create a professional grant writing toolkit that includes sample proposals, budgets, and other relevant materials.

Curriculum Development and Instructional Design for Higher Education (PLO 2, 4, 5, 6, 7)

This course provides learners with the knowledge and skills to evaluate, design, manage, and implement educational curricula in higher education. Learners learn curriculum development and instructional design principles, including theoretical foundations, practical applications, evaluation techniques, and diverse student needs. Learners develop course learning outcomes, curriculum maps, learning activities, and assessment tools. Learners produce a course syllabus and learning activities relative to their field and practice. 3.0 credits. Prerequisite: RES 2100. This is a 15-week elective course offered in the Spring.

• CLO1. Understanding Curriculum Theories and Models - Learners describe curriculum theories and instructional design models and analyze their strengths, limitations, and applicability in various educational contexts.
• CLO2. Designing Effective Curriculum Frameworks - Learners design a curriculum framework with clear learning objectives, appropriate learning materials, activities, and assessment strategies that align with curriculum goals and address diverse learning styles.
• CLO3. Evaluating and Implementing Curriculum - Learners implement and evaluate the curriculum and analyze student performance data, feedback, and educational outcomes to suggest revisions to the curriculum for improvement.
• CLO4. Addressing Diverse Learners - Learners design and incorporate differentiated instructional strategies and materials to accommodate diverse learning styles and abilities.
• CLO5. Incorporating Technology and Innovative Practices - Learners assess the effectiveness and integrate appropriate educational technologies and innovative practices into the curriculum to enhance learning and engagement.
• CLO6. Applying Professional and Ethical Principles - Learners apply professional and ethical guidelines and best practices in curriculum design, ensuring fairness and integrity.
• CLO 7. Engaging in Critical Thinking and Self-Reflection - Learners apply critical thinking and self-reflection to curriculum design, incorporating new knowledge into their practice.

Scholarly Publication and Presentation (PLOs 3, 4, 5, 6, 7)

This course equips learners with the knowledge and skills to produce, submit, publish, and present academic research. Learners build their professional identity and scholarly networks by identifying publications and presentation venues that align with their field of study. Learners create and submit proposals following professional ethical standards, including academic integrity and the use of technology. Learners navigate the peer review and submission stages, developing strategies for integrating feedback. 3.0 credits. Prerequisite: RES 2100. This is a 15-week elective course offered in the Spring.

• CLO1. Understanding the Scholarly Landscape - Learners understand the scholarly landscape in their field, identifying academic journals and professional organizations that align with their publication and presentation goals.
• CLO2. Selection and Submission - Learners select suitable academic platforms for manuscripts or presentations and submit a well-written, structured proposal that follows specific guidelines and formatting requirements.
• CLO3. Navigating Peer Review and Revisions - Learners constructively respond to peer review feedback and revise their work to improve clarity and quality.
• CLO4. Research Presentation - Learners prepare effective presentations and posters to disseminate research findings to academic and professional audiences.
• CLO5: Applying Ethical Considerations and Academic Integrity - Learners apply ethical guidelines and best practices to ensure the integrity and credibility of their research presentations and publication efforts.
• CLO6. Managing the Publication Timeline and Workflow - Learners develop a timeline and workflow for managing the research and publication process, including setting deadlines and managing revisions.

Research Mentoring and Professional Development (PLOs 1-7)

This course provides learners with professional and research mentorship to advance their career path in the current academic landscape. Faculty mentors guide learners toward reaching their teaching and research goals while building scholarly identity. Learners collaborate with peers to set professional goals, develop research networks, and create an academic career plan. The final project is an academic portfolio that includes a teaching philosophy, curriculum vitae, grant toolkit, sample course syllabi and lectures, and scholarly presentations and/or publications. 3.0 credits. Prerequisites: STAR core curriculum. This is a 15-week elective course. 

• CLO1. Understanding the Academic Career Landscape
• CLO2. Developing a Scholarly Identity
• CLO3. Identifying Resources for Professional Growth
• CLO4. Creating an Academic Portfolio

Saybrook Learner Research Symposium 

This symposium offers STAR learners the opportunity to plan and present at the annual STAR Research Symposium. Learners develop research proposals, practice presentation skills, receive and integrate peer review feedback, and create innovative presentations for a diverse audience of practitioners and scholars. The final project includes a recorded live presentation of scholarly work.