Libraries: Psychology: Journal Articles

About Journal Articles

Page Contents

About Journal Articles

Library databases (also known as "indexes") identify journal articles published on a particular topics. In addition to journal articles, many databases will also include records for book chapters, dissertations, and other reports.

Best Bets: Top Databases for Journal Articles in Psychology

Start your research here:

PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is the best database for the biomedical literature. Particularly useful for psychological research in the areas of cognitive neuroscience and biopsychology, with citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.

More Databases with Psychology Content

Topics in Psychology may overlap with other complementary subjects. It may be useful to search within a multidisciplinary database/index, or other subject specific databases.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The multidisciplinary database offers an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. Contains over 10,000 full-text journals and magazines as well as over 9,000 full-text peer-reviews journals.
Indexed in One Search
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window Combined access to all ProQuest databases, covering many different fields and full text articles.
Indexed in One Search
Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
Covering 12,000+ scholarly journals, plus selected books and published conference proceedings in all academic disciplines, the Web of Science Core Collection combines seven citation indexes which permit searching for articles that cite a known author or work, as well as searching by subject, author, journal, and author address.

Subject Databases

PEP Archive This link opens in a new window
PEP (Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing) Web is the most authoritative source of peer-reviewed, psychoanalytic literature available. Mixing full-text access to journals (over 40 full-text titles, in full runs to the present), books (includes the complete 24 volumes of the Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud, as well as core texts by Winnicott, Meltzer, Klein, and others), book reviews, commentaries, and letters; this is a unique and uniquely useful resource for access to psychoanalytic thought.
Indexed in OneSearch
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
The database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more.
This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles indexed in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. As well as hundreds of full text scholarly journals, the database also includes over 500 recent full-text doctoral dissertations on sociology.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is a comprehensive set of nursing & allied health indexing (also covers biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, and consumer health) with robust full-text coverage for most of their titles. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
Indexed in OneSearch
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
The database is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
Indexed in OneSearch
LGBTQ+ Source (Formerly known as LGBT Life with Full Text) This link opens in a new window
LGBT Life is a core index to the world’s literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. More than 200 journals and 360 books & reference works are abstracted and indexed, with more than 130 journals and 170 monographs & books provided in full-text. The database also includes browsing and searching access to the LGBT Thesaurus, used for indexing the literature in this collection.
Indexed in OneSearch

Finding Literature Reviews

The following are journals that publish literature reviews in psychology. Also consult reference books and encyclopedias to find articles that review the literature on a topic.

Annual Review of Psychology

Annual Review of Clinical Psychology

Psychological Bulletin

In addition to the above resources, use PsycINFO to find literature review articles. Limit you search under "Methodology" on the Advanced Search page:

Or, use the keywords "Literature Review" or "Review" in your search if using other databases without this limiter.

Top-Ranked Psychology Journals

Top Ranked Psychology Journals

According to Scimago JCR the following journals are ranked with the highest "impact factor" in Psychology:

Top Ranked Journals in Clinical Psychology:

According to Scimago JCR the following journals are ranked with the highest "impact factor" in Clinical Psychology:

Books & More

Articles

Research Tools

Other Discovery Tools

General Services

Our Services for...

Technology Services

Self-Service Library Help

Live Library Help

Writing & Tutoring

Academic Support

Library Accounts

IT & Productivity

Course Accounts

Library Administration

Who Wear Are

News, Events & Updates

Our Locations & Hours

Search the Library Website

Psychology