Saybrook Library_Test

Visit the Saybrook OneSearch Homepage

There are several ways to find articles using library resources whether searching for articles on a particular topic or a specific article. Many of our databases provide access to eBooks, videos, images, etc., but most databases contain articles from academic journals, magazines and newspapers.

Search for articles on a particular topic:

Use OneSearch for a basic search and enter keywords related to your topic or research question. For example:

art therapy AND addiction

Once the results appear, filter them under Tweak your results. You can limit by Peer-reviewed Journals, articles, newspaper articles, newsletter articles, date range, etc. Setting these filters will eliminate all the other types of resources.

Alternatively, open a database from the A-Z Database List. Enter search terms and any desired filters to search.

Search for a specific article:

You may have a title, part of a title, author name, DOI (digital object identifier), journal title, or some other identifying information about a specific article. There are a few strategies to use to locate it.

1. Use basic search and enter the title or partial title in quotation marks in OneSearch. Quotation marks look for the words as a phrase.

2. Use Advanced Search and set the fields for author or whatever field code you want to search.

3. If you have a DOI, click the SEARCH DOI/PMID (ARTICLES) link on the OneSearch page. The LibKey.io page will open. Enter the DOI and click Find Article. Then click one of the options to open (PDF or link.)

For more detailed instructions, review the PDF document below.

Here are two methods for locating journals:

1) Click the Journals option under the OneSearch search bar then enter the title of the journal. Here is an example search for the journal, Advances in Cognitive Psychology:

In the next screen, click the journal title to open the full index record. 

The index record will display databases that house the journal as well as links to the journal and an option to search within the journal for articles.

2)  Go to the OneSearch homepage and click Journals A-Z in the top navigation bar.

BrowZine will open. BrowZine is a tool that lets you browse, read and monitor the latest scholarly journals.  Enter a journal title, subject or ISSN or Browse Subjects and view journal titles within each subject and sub-category.

To learn more about BrowZine, view the video tutorial below. 

The best strategy for finding eBooks is to use OneSearch since most (but not all) of our eBooks are cataloged there.

When using OneSearch, first limit the search to Books by clicking Books under the search bar and then enter the book title, author, chapter title, keywords, etc. Use quotation marks around a book title to search it as a phrase rather than individual words.

Alternatively, go to an eBook database in the A-Z Database List, filter the search to eBook & Text Collections, and click a title of a database to search for an eBook directly in that database. The following eBooks databases are best bets for Saybrook students:

The library subscribes to over 100,000 streaming videos but not all of them can be indexed in OneSearch, the library's online catalog.

The best way to find relevant streaming videos is to browse the streaming video databases.

Go to the A-Z Database List and limit the All Database Types filter to Streaming Videos:

The list will filter to all the databases containing streaming videos. Click a database title to open the collection.

You can search by keyword or video title in OneSearch and when the results load, limit the search to Videos under Tweak your results.

Top Streaming Video Databases:

The primary source for locating dissertations and theses is the ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global database above and also found in the A-Z Database List. The library also provides a link to those awarded specifically to Saybrook University graduates.

To find dissertations and theses in other databases, filter the A-Z Database List by Dissertations and Theses. Click the database title to search in it. Enter your search terms and filter the search within the database to Dissertation/Thesis under the Document type or Format. Here is an example though different databases will vary as to the exact appearance and wording:

There are other repositories containing dissertations and theses potentially available for borrowing through other institutions so please contact library staff if you need assistance tracking one down. You may also find a dissertation published as an author's first book (often with a similar title) or selected chapters published as articles.

• To find a dissertation published as a book, search for the author at WorldCat. 
• To find dissertation findings published as articles, search for the author in one of our journal article databases.

View Saybrook University Dissertations of Distinction by opening the document linked below.