The original Gilbert Baker Pride Flag created in 1978. Explore the many variations of the LGBTQ+ Pride flags at the Human Rights Campaign website:
Feedback/Suggestions
Do you have feedback for this page?
Do you have a resource you would like to suggest?
Please complete the form below:
Important: Please Read!
NOTE: This guide is compiled from a variety of sources and should be used for informational purposes only. While we have diligently chosen content from reputable sources, we cannot guarantee the accuracy or completeness of the information provided. Inclusion of a resource in this guide does not constitute an endorsement.
About Pride Month
"Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) Pride Month is currently celebrated each year in the month of June to honor the 1969 Stonewall Uprising in Manhattan. The Stonewall Uprising was a tipping point for the Gay Liberation Movement in the United States. In the United States the last Sunday in June was initially celebrated as "Gay Pride Day," but the actual day was flexible. In major cities across the nation the "day" soon grew to encompass a month-long series of events. Today, celebrations include pride parades, picnics, parties, workshops, symposia and concerts, and LGBTQ Pride Month events attract millions of participants around the world. Memorials are held during this month for those members of the community who have been lost to hate crimes or HIV/AIDS. The purpose of the commemorative month is to recognize the impact that lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender individuals have had on history locally, nationally, and internationally.
In 1994, a coalition of education-based organizations in the United States designated October as LGBT History Month. In 1995, a resolution passed by the General Assembly of the National Education Association included LGBT History Month within a list of commemorative months. National Coming Out Day (October 11), as well as the first "March on Washington" in 1979, are commemorated in the LGBTQ community during LGBT History Month."
Library of Congress Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Pride Month Website
This guide is designed to assist researchers who are interested in learning more about LGBTQ+ research.
Internal and External Resources
The resources in the section below include websites, open-access collections, open-access journals, and Saybrook Library materials. If you encounter an external resource that does not permit access or prompts you for credentials, please search for the resource in OneSearch to verify that we do not have it in our collection. If we do not have it, expand your search to Beyond My Library to request it through Interlibrary Loan. Email the library if you need assistance.
Links to External and Internal Resources
- Consortium of Higher Education LGBT Resource Professionals"The Consortium is a member-based organization working towards the liberation of LGBTQ people in higher education. We support individuals who work on campuses to educate and support people of diverse sexual orientations and gender identities, as well as advocate for more inclusive policies and practices through an intersectional and racial justice framework."
- Digital Library of Georgia Southern Voice NewspaperPublication of this LGBT+ newspaper began in 1988. The mission of this paper was to provide a means of communication among LGBTQ+ individuals and communities in the wake of the AIDS crisis.
- Digital Transgender ArchiveThe purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Boston, Massachusetts at Northeastern University, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than sixty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history.
- Funders for LGBTQ IssuesFunders for LGBTQ Issues educates and organizes funders, and supports power-building to create an abundance of resources for the justice and liberation of all queer communities. Funders for LGBTQ Issues is a network of more than 100 foundations, corporations, and funding institutions that collectively award more than $1 billion annually, including approximately $200 million specifically devoted to LGBTQ issues.
- Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of Alternative PressIndependent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. This collection contains over 387,828 pages of independent alternative press, dating from the 1960s-1980s. This collection includes freely digitized versions of a number of publications dealt with LGBTQ+ issues and themes. Some examples include: Off Our Backs, The Furies Lesbian/Feminist Month, and The Lesbian Tide.
- Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Studies CommonsFree, Full-text access to scholarly articles, dissertations, book chapters and more, provided by hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions.
- LGBTQ+ GlossaryProvided by UC Davis Health.
- LGBTQ/Diversity Open Access Textbooks, Scholarly & Professional PublicationsHarrington Park Press is a specialized academic/scholarly book and journal publisher devoted to emerging topics in LGBTQ diversity, equality, and inclusivity. It aims to provide a leading edge, independent publishing outlet for LGBTQ/ diversity scholarship and professional practice within the social and behavioral sciences, history, and related fields. (Note: Currently in Beta stage.)
- Library of Congress LGBTQIA+ Studies Resource GuideThe collections of the Library of Congress tell the rich and diverse story of LGBTQ+ life in America and around the world. This research guide serves as an introduction into the excellent collection of LGBTQ+ resources available at the Library of Congress.
- PRIDEnet for ResearchersPRIDEnet is a network of individuals and organizations that is designed to engage lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer+ (LGBTQ+) people in the health research process from end-to-end. PRIDEnet is based at Stanford University School of Medicine and has a site at University of California, San Francisco, but works with groups and individuals around the country. PRIDEnet is working to help make sure that diverse voices from the LGBTQ+ communities are involved not only as research participants but also in creating, analyzing, and disseminating information from associated projects including The PRIDE Study (pridestudy.org) and the All of Us Research Program (https://allofus.nih.gov)
Databases
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
This acclaimed and award-winning weekly publication provides a balanced view of today's most pressing social, political, and economic issues. Each weekly report covers the given topic in a non-sensationalized manner, and many reports feature a pro/con debate, highlighting both sides of the argument.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowThe database is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
- LGBTQ+ Source (Formerly known as LGBT Life with Full Text) This link opens in a new windowLGBT Life is a core index to the world’s literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. More than 200 journals and 360 books & reference works are abstracted and indexed, with more than 130 journals and 170 monographs & books provided in full-text. The database also includes browsing and searching access to the LGBT Thesaurus, used for indexing the literature in this collection.
- LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new windowThe database is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This first-of-its-kind collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics
Journals
- Gay and Lesbian Issues and Psychology ReviewPublication of this Australian Psychological Society journal began in 2005 and continues today. Saybrook Library provides coverage from 7/2007 - 12/2013 via Ebsco. Articles outside of these dates will require an interlibrary loan request.
- Gender ForumAn online, peer reviewed academic journal dedicated to the discussion of gender issues. As an open access online journal, gender forum offers a platform for the discussion of gender-related topics in the fields of literary and cultural production, media and the arts as well as politics, the natural sciences, medicine, the law, religion and philosophy.
- GLQ OnlineGLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies publishes scholarship, criticism, and commentary in areas as diverse as law, science studies, religion, political science, and literary studies. Its aim is to offer queer perspectives on all issues touching on sex and sexuality.
- International Journal of Transgender HealthOffers an international, multidisciplinary scholarly forum for publication in the field of transgender health in its broadest sense for academics, practitioners, policy makers, and the general population.
- Journal of HomosexualityInternationally acclaimed, peer-reviewed publication devoted to publishing a wide variety of disciplinary and interdisciplinary scholarship to foster a thorough understanding of the complexities, nuances, and the multifaceted aspects of sexuality and gender.
- Journal of Sex ResearchAn international journal publishing interdisciplinary research on the scientific study of sexuality. JSR is the official publication of the Society for the Scientific Study of Sexuality (SSSS). JSR is designed to stimulate research and promote an interdisciplinary understanding of the diverse topics in contemporary sexual science.
- LGBTQ+ Family: An Interdisciplinary JournalAddresses the experiences of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer individuals in families and the impact of sexual orientation and more on families.
- Psychology of Sexual Orientation and Gender DiversityThe official publication of APA Division 44 (Society for the Psychology of Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity.) A scholarly journal dedicated to the dissemination of information in the field of sexual orientation and gender diversity. It is a primary outlet for research particularly as it impacts practice, education, public policy, and social action.
- Transgender HealthFrom Mary Ann Liebert, the journal dedicated to delivering authoritative, peer-reviewed research and clinical studies focused exclusively on meeting the healthcare needs of transgender individuals throughout their lifespan.
The American LGBTQ Rights Movement by
The American LGBTQ Rights Movement: An Introduction is a chronological survey of the LGBTQ fight for equal rights from the turn of the 20th century to the early 21st century. Illustrated with historical photographs, the book beautifully reveals the heroic people and key events that shaped the American LGBTQ rights movement. The book includes personal narratives to capture the lived experience from each era, as well as details of essential organizations, texts, and court cases that defined LGBTQ activism and advocacy.
ISBN: 9781947112445Publication Date: 2020-07-08
Gender Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Academia by
Institutional focus on diversity, equity, and inclusion affects all parts of higher education management. This book scrutinizes the conceptual framework for diversity, equity, and inclusion actions in academia to facilitate research-based and critically reflected decisions in higher ed management. It also discusses concepts directed towards solutions, such as affirmative action and feminist pedagogies, and overcomes the traditional binary approach on gender by incorporating specific challenges faced by LGBTQ+ and transgender staff and students. Key reading for academics in gender and education studies, while also serving as a vital resource for individual consumers working in or preparing to enter leadership positions in higher education.
ISBN: 9781032426389Publication Date: 2023-04-12
Intersectionality, Sexuality and Psychological Therapies by
This book explores the diversity in lesbian, gay, and bisexual lives, intending to open up therapists' understanding of this diversity so that they can work in an ethical, supportive, and non-discriminatory way with these individuals. Focuses on the practitioner, illustrating concepts with vignettes and case studies for implementing practical applications. Emphasizes gender balance, fully exploring both male and female perspectives on each topic.
ISBN: 9780470975008Publication Date: 2012-04-23
Introduction to LGBTQ+ Studies: A Cross-Disciplinary Approach by
This textbook offers accessible, academically sound information on a wide range of LGBTQ+ topics. The 12 chapters cover LGBTQ+ history, culture, and Queer Theory, but also explore LGBTQ+ relationships, families, parenting, health, and education - as well as a separate chapter on how to conduct research on LGBTQ+ topics. The book explores LGBTQ+ issues from the ancient world to contemporary global perspectives. Employing an intersectional analysis, the textbook highlights how sexuality and gender are simultaneously experienced and constructed through other structures of inequality and privilege, such as race and class.
ISBN: 9781438491707Publication Date: 2022-11-01
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans, Intersex, and Queer Psychology by
The third edition of this award-winning textbook provides an accessible and engaging introduction to the field of LGBTIQ+ psychology. Comprehensive in scope and international in outlook, it offers an integrated overview of key topical areas, from history and context, identities and fluidity, families and relationships, to health and wellbeing. This third edition includes updates across all chapters that provide a greater focus on diversity and utilize new terminology throughout to reflect changes in the field. It addresses recent developments in the field of trans studies, and explicitly references emerging work around pansexuality and asexuality. An entirely new chapter focuses on a diversity of topics receiving increased attention including LGBTIQ+ people in foster care, LGBTIQ+ refugees, disabled people accessing services, and trans and intersex people in sport. The fallout of increasing far-right extremism in Europe and America is also discussed. This groundbreaking textbook is an essential resource for undergraduate courses on sex, gender and sexuality in psychology and related disciplines, such as sociology, health studies, social work, education and counselling.
ISBN: 9781009335140Publication Date: 2024-12-12
LGBTQ-Parent Families: Innovations in Research and Implications for Practice by
This textbook offers a comprehensive overview of research on LGBTQ-parent families. The new edition of the textbook provides updated information and expands on the range and depth of current research. The second edition includes new chapters discussing: LGBTQ-parent families and health. LGBTQ foster parents. LGBTQ adults and sibling relationships. LGBTQ-parent families and poverty. LGBTQ-parent families and separation/divorce. LGBTQ-parent families and religion. LGBTQ-parent families and grief/loss. Methods, recruitment, and sampling in research with LGBTQ families. Teaching/pedagogy on LGBTQ-parent families.
ISBN: 3030356094Publication Date: 2020-04-04
Pocket Guide to LGBTQ Mental Health by
This is a down-to-earth, informative, and affirming manual for mental health clinicians working with patients of diverse gender and sexual identities. In recent years, people have begun to grapple with these issues in a healthier, more public way, and mental health practitioners must be prepared to meet their patients with the knowledge, understanding, and grasp of the context in which patients live their lives. The editors have brought their specialized knowledge to the project and, along with contributors who are experts in the field of LGBTQ mental health, have created a book of uncommon empathy. The volume's structure is simple, consistent, and effective, with 10 chapters covering lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, intersex, asexual, pansexual, and allied individuals.
ISBN: 9781615373109Publication Date: 2020-07-06
The Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTG+ Studies by
The 2nd edition examines and provides an understanding of the lives and experiences of LGBTQ individuals, with attention to the contexts and forces that shape their world. It looks primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development, and sociology, while emphasizing queer, feminist, and ecological perspectives on this topic. Entries are written by top researchers and clinicians across multiple fields--psychology, human development, gender/queer studies, sexuality studies, social work, nursing, cultural studies, education, family studies, medicine, public health, and sociology.
ISBN: 9781071891421Publication Date: 2024-01-23
