EBooks in the Saybrook Library
The Action Research Dissertation by
Action research is appropriate not only for a dissertation, but is also a deeply rewarding experience for both the researcher and participants. This book helps students understand the ways action research dissertations are different from more traditional dissertations and prepares students and their committees for the unique dilemmas they may face, such as validity, positionality, design, write-up, ethics, and defense of the dissertation.
ISBN: 9780761929918Publication Date: 2005-01-12
Completing Your Evaluation Dissertation, Thesis, or Culminating Project by
This practical, user-friendly resource helps students successfully complete an evaluation capstone: a dissertation, thesis, or culminating project where a student conducts an evaluation as their capstone experience. The authors present a framework to support students and faculty in maximizing student development of evaluator competencies, addressing standards of the evaluation profession, and contributing to programs and disciplinary knowledge.
ISBN: 9781544300009Publication Date: 2020-09-17
The Craft of Research, Fifth Edition by
A thoroughly updated edition of a beloved classic that has guided generations of researchers in conducting effective and meaningful research. This fundamental work explains how to choose significant topics, pose genuine and productive questions, find and evaluate sources, build sound and compelling arguments, and convey those arguments effectively to others. It recognizes that research may lead to a product other than a paper--or no product at all--and includes a new chapter about effective presentations. It features fresh examples from a variety of fields that will appeal to today's students and other readers. It also accounts for new technologies used in research and offers basic guidelines for the appropriate use of generative AI. And it ends with an expanded chapter on ethics that addresses researchers' broader obligations to their research communities and audiences as well as systemic questions about ethical research practices.
ISBN: 9780226826677Publication Date: 2024-06-25
Destination Dissertation by
Your dissertation is not a hurdle to jump or a battle to fight; as this handbook makes clear, your dissertation is the first of many destinations on the path of your professional career. Destination Dissertation guides you to the successful completion of your dissertation by framing the process as a stimulating and exciting trip--one that can be completed in fewer than nine months and by following twenty-nine specific steps.
ISBN: 9781442246133Publication Date: 2015-10-22
Dissertation Research Methods: A Step-by-Step Guide to Writing Up Your Research in the Social Sciences by
Written by two methodology experts in the social sciences, the book provides a step-by-step guide through each stage of the dissertation process. It covers all aspects of the methodological considerations needed, from choosing a topic or research question, developing a literature review, identifying research gaps, accessing potential study participants, utilizing the right sampling strategies, analyzing data, and writing up findings. Includes templates, examples, and tools to help students write about methodology.
ISBN: 9781032213859Publication Date: 2023-09-11
The PhD Writing Handbook by
This is an invaluable guide to developing the writing skills needed to succeed at every stage of postgraduate research. It provides useful guidance on writing clearly and coherently, and covers core topics such as exploring key concepts through writing, building a structured chapter framework and completing a first draft. Each chapter features insights from researchers along with hands-on tasks and self-evaluation exercises to help readers develop their own strategies for success.
ISBN: 9781137497697Publication Date: 2016-09-23
A Practical Guide to Dissertation and Thesis Writing by
This book provides a step-by-step guide to writing the different chapters of a PhD dissertation, which will benefit aspiring, beginner and mid-track PhD students and candidates in the Social Sciences. Based on the authors’ combined experience, it offers helpful writing guidelines, from the conceptualization and problematization of the dissertation through to the literature review, methodological issues, writing up results and, finally, to the discussion, conclusions and abstract writing process.
ISBN: 9781527538764Publication Date: 2019-08-27
The Productive Graduate Student Writer: How to Manage Your Time, Process, and Energy to Write Your Research Proposal, Thesis, and Dissertation and Get Published by
This book is for graduate students who want to become more productive writers, written for those who want to: increase their motivation, focus, and persistence to move a project to completion; overcome procrastination and perfectionistic tendencies; reduce their anxiety and fear of writing; and manage their time, work, energy (and advisor) for greater productivity. The process of sustained writing is not taught to undergraduate or graduate students as part of their studies. The author focuses both on the process and habits of writing as well as on helping you uncover what kind of writer you are. With a light touch and an engaging sense of humor, she proposes strategies to overcome obstacles and become a more productive and prolific writer.
ISBN: 9781620368930Publication Date: 2019-07-02
Revise: The Scholar-Writer's Essential Guide to Tweaking, Editing, and Perfecting Your Manuscript by
Writing and revision are two different skills. Many scholar-writers have learned something about how to write, but fewer know how to read and revise their own writing, spot editorial issues, and transform a draft from passable to great. Drawing on before and after examples from more than a decade as a developmental editor of scholarly works, Pamela Haag tackles the most common challenges of scholarly writing. This book is packed with practical, user-friendly advice and is written with warmth, humor, sympathy, and flair. With an inspiring passion for natural language, Haag demonstrates how to reconcile clarity with intellectual complexity. Designed to be an in-the-trenches desktop reference, this indispensable resource can help scholars develop a productive self-editing habit, advise their graduate and other students on style, and, ultimately, get their work published and praised.
ISBN: 9780300243673Publication Date: 2021-03-23
Writing Dissertations and Theses in Psychology by
This accessible guide equips students to succeed in their master's thesis or doctoral dissertation in psychology. The authors address the multiple stages of the dissertation and thesis process: drafting the proposal, the advisor-advisee relationship, interacting with committee members, the writing process, handling obstacles, and the final presentation. Chapters provide guidance on using a research team, collecting data, conducting a literature review, and even acquiring financial support, and more.
ISBN: 9780367855932Publication Date: 2021-01-01
Writing the Winning Thesis or Dissertation by
The classic step-by-step guide, fully updated. From selecting your topic to defending your finished work, a master's thesis or doctoral dissertation is a major undertaking. Since 1998, this book has been the go-to resource for best practices at every phase of the process. This revised fourth edition is the most comprehensive guide yet to researching, writing, and publishing a successful thesis or dissertation. It includes: Insights on leveraging new technologies to maximize your efficiency. Current case studies demonstrating the book's teachings in action. Tested principles of effective planning, an engaging writing style, defense preparation, and more.
ISBN: 9781544317205Publication Date: 2018-07-13
Writing Your Thesis by
This new edition is designed to help postgraduate and research students with the process, preparation, writing and examination of their theses. Many students are able to design their program of research and collect the data, but they can find it more difficult to transform their data into a thesis. The author outlines: the purpose of the thesis and what it should achieve; strategies for organizing your work as you write your thesis; how to the incorporate a theoretical perspective; sound techniques of academic writing; how to benefit from your supervisor’s experience; what to do about publishing preliminary findings; and tips on preparing for the oral examination.
ISBN: 9781412946896Publication Date: 2008-05-29
Other Resources
- Grammarly: The Complete Guide to Writing a DissertationA foundational primer to help you write a dissertation without getting overwhelmed.
- 25+ Dissertation & Thesis Writing AppsThe following apps and tools can help you discover, analyze, and synthesize scholarly materials, significantly streamlining the literature review process. (Not a substitute for doing your own work!)