Finding a Database
Databases are found in various locations throughout the library website. Here are the two best ways to find a database:
1. Click the A-Z Database List tab on the library website.
You will see a directory of databases available to all the schools in The Community Solution Education System. Saybrook University has access to most of the list, however, some are only available to particular schools in our consortium. This will be noted in the description:
The list can be filtered and searched in different ways.
- Database Title/Keyword: Enter the name of a database or keyword.
- Subject: Limit by subject area such as Health & Medical Sciences, Psychology, Tests & Measures, etc.
- Type: Limit by the content type such as Abstracts, Articles, Dissertations & Theses, Reports, Streaming Videos, etc.
- Vendor: Limit by vendor name such as EBSCO, ProQuest, Sage, APA, etc.
- Search by alphabet category: Click a letter to display databases that begin with that letter.
Each database in the list provides a summary of the coverage. In addition, icons listed reveal important information about the database, such as whether it is restricted use, the type of database, whether it is included in a OneSearch search, etc. Refer to the Icon Legend on the right side of the screen to learn more about what the icons mean. This helps you know if the database meets your needs.
Tip: Choose the Quick List dropdown option under A-Z Database List for a quick alphabetical listing of linked databases rather than the full descriptive list to save time.
2. Refer to the online guide for your program on the Instructional Guides page of the library website.
Each guide contains recommended databases for Articles, eBooks, Videos/Images, Reference, Datasets, Statistics, and/or Tests & Measures unique to each discipline.
Multidisciplinary Databases
These databases cover all subjects. This means you will usually find something on your topic but the depth of coverage may be more shallow. Multidisciplinary databases are a good place to start when you are not sure which database to use.
To find our selection of multidisciplinary databases, go to the A-Z Database List and filter for Multidisciplinary under the Subject dropdown menu.
Some popular multidisciplinary databases in Saybrook's A-Z Database List are:
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The multidisciplinary database offers an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. Contains over 10,000 full-text journals and magazines as well as over 9,000 full-text peer-reviews journals.
- EBSCO Host (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowBrowse and search all databases provided by EBSCO.
- ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Academic is the best destination for multidisciplinary research, teaching and learning. It brings together more than 250 years of authoritative, curated content available across every discipline and format to one place. It encompasses entirety of four resources many researchers and libraries rely upon: ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, ProQuest Dissertation & Theses Global and Academic Video Online, creating a seamless user experience for researchers at all levels.
- Research Library This link opens in a new windowFrom business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of the most utilized subjects and topics. The database includes thousands of full-text titles, with a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, important and general interest magazines.
- Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. Search results can be sorted in order of Times Cited to see the most important articles first. This is not a Full Text Database. Some items covered by this database are not currently available in full text but may be requested through inter-library loan.
Full Text Databases vs. Indexes
The database contents differ by the type of databases and fall into three categories:
Full-Text: Contents contain full text of articles and other resources.
Example: Sage Academic Books
Index Only: These have only citations to materials.
Example: PsycINFO
Mixed: There is a mix of full text and just citations.
Example: Academic Search Ultimate
Tip: Do NOT limit yourself to full-text databases. The articles you discover in a citation-only database may actually be available in one of our databases or online in an open access collection. Even if the library does not have an article, you can usually get a copy of it via Interlibrary Loan which is delivered in PDF format to your email inbox.