Social Work Library Research Guide @ PO Library

The collection showcases the skills necessary to become a social worker. It gives insights into different client groups at the micro, mezzo, and macro levels and elevates understanding of how theory and policy related to practice.

For all faculty: Please review the Social Work Video Instructor Manual for additional classroom support.

The SAGE Video Sociology collection covers the shifting understandings of social identities and the intersections of sociological conditions, from environmental and political to familial and cultural. An array of different video types are available including multiple hours of in-practice footage that showcase how sociological theories and intersections play in the real world context.

This collection of 136 hours and 420 videos draws upon a vast network of SAGE’s authors and editors. It includes many tutorials, such as Mick Cooper on Empathy and Listening, multiple interviews with leading experts such as Jerrold Lee Shapiro on Existential Psychotherapy and John McLeod on Evidence-Based Practice, along with many more films addressing teaching, learning and practitioner issues.

The database is a streaming video resource with a board collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources. Kanopy’s website makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films across campus.

Psychotherapy.net consists of over 200 titles of the leading practitioners in the fields of psychotherapy, counseling, social work and addiction treatment demonstrating clinical techniques and discussing their work.

This collection features 134 hours across more than 400 videos, covering different content types that will help users instruct, learn, think deeply, and become even more curious. See professional psychologists in action, such as forensic psychologists working inside a prison, or clinical psychologists treating patients with a variety of mental health disorders; or venture back to the field’s beginnings via footage of John B. Watson or Muzafer Sherif’s early experiments.