While Google Scholar can be a helpful search tool, library databases are generally superior for academic research. This comparison outlines some of the similarities and differences between research databases and Google or Google Scholar.
| Criteria | Library Databases | Google/Google Scholar |
|---|---|---|
| Access to Peer-Reviewed Literature |
Provide access to vast array of peer-reviewed journals and scholarly literature Content is not freely available on web Access to credible and rigorous research articles |
Google Scholar does index scholarly articles but not all are peer-reviewed or from reputable sources Mix of academic papers, books, conference proceedings, non-peer-reviewed sources |
| Specialized and Subject-Specific Content |
Subject-specific such as PsycINFO, PubMed, and others tailored to psychological research Use controlled vocabularies that enhance precision in searching for relevant literature |
Subject-specific such as PsycINFO, PubMed, and others tailored to psychological research Use controlled vocabularies that enhance precision in searching for relevant literature |
| Advanced Search Capabilities |
Offer advanced search features for more precise and targeted searches such as: -Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) -Field-specific searching (e.g., title, abstract, keyword) -Filters (e,g., publication date, peer-reviewed status) |
Offers basic search functionalities but lacks sophisticated search options of library databases |
| Full-text Access and Interlibrary Loan Service |
Based on institutional subscriptions so direct access to full-text links possible If not available in Saybrook databases, Interlibrary Loan can be used to get it for free from another library |
*Provides links to full-text articles but a paywall may be encountered May also link to versions that are not the final published version (e.g., drafts and preprints) |
| Quality and Credibility of Sources |
Curate content from reputable publishers and scholarly societies Ensures high-quality and credible sources for academic research and citation |
Includes a mix of scholarly and non-scholarly sources This makes it important to critically evaluate the credibility and reliability of each result |
| Legal and Ethical Considerations | Ensure compliance with copyright laws and licensing agreements, providing access to content legally and ethically | May provide access to copyrighted material without proper licensing, potentially raising legal and ethical concerns if accessed improperly |
| *Sync your Google Scholar to the Saybrook Library to access in a database |