Library Resources as Course Readings
Using library resources within your course as required or optional readings is another method, alongside Open Educational Resources (OER), to provide access to resources at no cost to students. TCS Education System Libraries collections provide access to more than 450,000 eBooks, 150,000 eJournals, and over 330 databases that contain articles, streaming media, and more. Browse the list of the libraries' Shared Electronic Resources or search the library catalog at your local library to find resources on your subject of interest. Please email the library at library@saybrook.edu if you would like assistance locating information resources for use in your course.
Library Resources Overview
The best way to find eBooks is to use OneSearch, the library's main search tool found on the homepage of the website. Click the button for Books and then enter keywords, book title, author, or other search term. Alternatively, go to the A-Z Database List which is the TCS shared electronic resource page and limit the search to Books. Choose a specific database to search in from the list of results. The databases below are the top eBook resources:
- eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary academic collection of more than 150,000 eBooks. Printing is limited to 60 pages. Downloading of an eBook requires the setting up of a personal account and the downloading of Adobe Digital Editions.
- Ebook Central Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThe database provides access to a large selection of authoritative, scholarly eBooks in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
- eBook Nursing Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowDesigned for use in hospitals, medical institutions and academic institutions with nursing or allied health programs, this subscription collection features more than 450 hand-selected, quality e-books that focus on the needs of nursing professionals, including clinical guides, evidence-based practice manuals, practical handbooks and professional growth titles.
- JSTOR Books @ TCS Education System Libraries This link opens in a new windowOver 40,000 JSTOR eBook titles are now available for access at TCS Education System Libraries through an Evidence-Based Acquisition (EBA) inter-library and consortial sponsored collaborative program for a period beginning August 2019 and ending August 2022.
JSTOR eBook collections include titles from leading academic publishers from around the world, including university presses, public policy organizations, and independent presses. - PsycBooks This link opens in a new window
This database is a full-text collection of over 1600 books published by APA. Classic books from other publishers are also included, along with over 1,500 authored entries from the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
SAGE Knowledge is the ultimate social sciences digital library for students, researchers, and faculty. Hosting more than 6,100 titles, the database includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, and professional development titles. The content integrates seamlessly with the library’s SAGE video subscriptions.
- Springer eBook Collection in Behavioral Sciences and Psychology This link opens in a new window
This collection includes over 3.600 books and reference works published from 2005 to 2017. Among them are, Encyclopedia of Cognitive Behavior Therapy, Drug and Alcohol Abuse (6th ed.), Handbook of Race-Ethnicity and Gender in Psychology, Fundamentals of Forensic Practice, Handbook of Urban Health, and many more.
There are many ways to find articles and eJournal titles. Use OneSearch, search from a local library catalog (visit your local library for specific instructions), or use BrowZine, our journal finder. Or, explore popular article databases below from the A-Z Database List.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate boasts an extensive collection of 10,033 active full-text journals, a significant portion of which undergo peer review and are featured in prominent citation indexes. It covers a wide range of subject areas offering thousands of international journals to provide global context to research as well as videos to support and enhance the research experience.
- Annual Reviews Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews of primary research literature in the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. Coverage of significant developments is provided in volumes for more than 40 focused disciplines within those broad areas, including psychology, medicine, nutrition, sociology, neuroscience and more.
- Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new windowDOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 40% of which comes from sponsors and 60% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.
- Elsevier Science Direct Collections [Combined] (Health Sciences, Neuroscience, and Psychology) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 1,500 journals in the Health Sciences, Psychology, and Neurosciences. Full-text coverage includes current and four years back. Search capability and access to abstracts for all journals on the Science Direct platform.
- MEDLINE Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text database of biomedical and health journals, providing full text for thousands of top medical journals with cover-to-cover indexing. MEDLINE Ultimate uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings, and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals. The database covers an extensive range of subjects including biomedicine, pre-clinical science, health policy development and much more.
- ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Academic is the best destination for multidisciplinary research, teaching and learning. It brings together more than 250 years of authoritative, curated content available across every discipline and format to one place. It encompasses entirety of four resources many researchers and libraries rely upon: ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, ProQuest Dissertation & Theses Global and Academic Video Online, creating a seamless user experience for researchers at all levels.
- SAGE Online Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journal publisher. Their portfolio includes more than 700 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.
- Wiley Online Core Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
The database provides access to over 1,400 multi-disciplinary journal titles that from the key imprints Wiley, Wiley-VCH, Jossey-Bass, and from hundreds of scholarly and professional societies. Subjects include Psychology, Social and Behavioral Sciences, Medicine, Life Sciences, Health Care, Law and Criminology, and much more.
The best way to find streaming videos is directly within the streaming video databases since not all of our titles get indexed in OneSearch. Go to the A-Z Database List and filter by streaming videos. Click a title of a database to enter and search in it. These are the top video databases:
- Academic Video Online Premium This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online: Premium consists of more than 70,000 streaming video titles spanning a wide range of subjects including art, anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
- Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Over 8 hours of video content featuring head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. Includes 4 OSCE Clinical Skills Videos.
- Health Reference Center This link opens in a new window
The database includes comprehensive coverage of body systems, current health issues, conditions, and procedures, from a variety books, journals, videos, and other reference sources. It also offers health and nutrition information that is specific to men, women, children, teens, and seniors.
- Kanopy Streaming Collection This link opens in a new window
The database is a streaming video resource with a board collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources. Kanopy’s website makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films across campus.
- The PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new windowThis collection assembles hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service into one convenient online interface. A core of 245 titles, selected for their high quality and relevance to academic curricula, covers many educational disciplines, including history, science and technology, diversity studies, business, and current events. This collection provides access to the films and series users already know and trust, including Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.
- Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
Psychotherapy.net consists of over 200 titles of the leading practitioners in the fields of psychotherapy, counseling, social work and addiction treatment demonstrating clinical techniques and discussing their work.
- PsycTherapy This link opens in a new window
APA PsycTherapy provides therapy demonstration videos specifically developed to enable viewers to observe how therapists spontaneously use different approaches and techniques in practice. The videos provide examples of some of the most renowned therapists working with participants on a host of therapy topics. The more than 550 videos in APA PsycTherapy feature searchable word-for-word transcripts that scroll in sync with the video playback. All videos have also been coded with searchable and browsable index terms and other information about participants, clinical demonstration content, and therapeutic approaches demonstrated by each video. APA PsycTherapy also provides powerful search, clip-making, and playlist capabilities.
- SAGE Research Methods Video This link opens in a new window
The database includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. Find videos made with expert researchers from leading research institutions, your favorite SAGE authors, great teachers and more
- Open Access Databases at SaybrookThis is a filtered list of Open Access information resource collections from the Saybrook A-Z Database List.