Changes to Library Procedures
Book Loan Request (UW Book Loan)
At this time, the borrowing of physical items from the University of Washington (UW) Libraries will be temporarily suspended. We hope that our partners at the UW Libraries will be able to return to their full service models in the near future, and the Saybrook library will continue to monitor the situation. Remember that book chapters can still be requested through our "Article Request" service - see below for more information.
"Article Request" Service (for journal articles and book chapters)
Requests for full-text copies of journal articles which we do not have full-text access to through our databases/eJournal platforms can still be placed through our "Article Request" form (NOTE: Click on the blue "Article Request" button at the top of the page). The $15/request processing and content fee is still required, and please note that requests may take longer than normal to process, depending on our partners' ability to respond in a timely manner.
Research Consultations
All research consultations are still available and continue to be done virtually. To schedule a research consultation please reach out to our librarian!
Virtual Library Resources
- Visit the Saybrook Library WebpagesThe Saybrook Library webpages collect information about and links to get into all of our databases and content platforms, as well as information about all library services and direct support.
BEST ways to reach out to the Saybrook Library:
- Email the Saybrook Librarian, Noah Lowenstein
- Email the Saybrook Library support team, Noah and Kirsten
- Call the library (voicemail will be returned within 48 hours): 626-316-5319
- Use the TCSES Library Chat ("Ask the Library") system.
[Chat link available on the "Databases A-Z" page.]- A quick way to get help with any question is to use the library chat (the orange button in the top-right corner of the "Databases A-Z" page). Chat will still be online between 9 AM and 9 PM EST (8 AM - 8 PM CST, 5 AM - 5 PM PST). If there is no one online to answer your chat, you can leave us a message through that same button and a member of library staff will get back to you as soon as the library reopens.
We have gathered some library resources that you can access from anywhere to get you started with your research:
- Ebook Central Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThe database provides access to a large selection of authoritative, scholarly eBooks in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
- Databases A-ZA list of over 300 databases that you have access to through the Saybrook library. (Check the right sidebar for the most popular!)
- Search for full-text journal coverage (browse journals)Use the "Index to Full-Text" to browse or search for eJournals, and/or shared eBooks.
- RefworksWhy not use this time to get your citations organized? Your next big paper will thank you!