Platform Upgrade
- 2025 Platform Upgrade ComingFrom the database: We're excited to announce that in the coming months, we will be launching a new NatMed platform that provides a seamless and efficient experience for our users. Along with a completely new look and design, users will immediately notice significant performance enhancements, refined navigation, and improved functionality.
Accessing NatMedPro
As with any of our databases, access NatMed Pro from the A-Z Database List on the left side navigation of the library website. Enter NatMedPro or Natural Medicines into the search bar and hit Search. Alternatively, click the letter N and then scroll to find the database. Click the title to open it. If prompted to log in, use your Saybrook email and password.
You may also access it at this link:
- NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window The most authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies. Comprehensive medical condition monographs covering background, causes, prevention, treatment, conventional, and integrative therapy options, diets, exercise and nutrition.
Overview
The NatMedPro Database, also known as Natural Medicines Database, is the most authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies. Comprehensive medical condition monographs covering background, causes, prevention, treatment, conventional, and integrative therapy options, diets, exercise and nutrition.
| NatMedPro DOES: | NatMedPro DOES NOT: |
|---|---|
| Use evidence-based approach | Use traditional beliefs or folklore as "evidence" |
| Critically appraise the literature | Rely on product manufacturer promotional data |
| Utilize the most relevant and valid data | Base ratings on unpublished manufacturer-sponsored studies |
| Prioritize higher quality data | Have a bias for or against natural products |
| Peer review | Participate in advertising or sponsorship |
| Daily monitoring and review of new literature | Get support from any interest group, organization, or product manufacturer |
| Daily updates to the database | |
| Acknowledges clearly any deficiencies in data in the database | |
| Operate as an impartial organization |
Features
Using NatMedPro
Before you review the database summaries below, let's define some key terms. A database is a searchable index that stores information sources in electronic format. The databases below consist of monographs. A monograph is a comprehensive review of a specialized area of knowledge. While you may not be able to use monographs for your research assignment, you can use them to further your understanding of your topic, thus strengthening your argument.
- Food, Herbs & Supplements: Search over 1300 monographs on vitamins, herbs, minerals, supplements, and more! These monographs offer insight into natural ingredient effectiveness, potential safety concerns, and interactions.
- Health & Wellness: Browse over 140 monographs for comprehensive complementary and alternative treatment information, including therapeutic diets and other therapies.
- Sports Medicine: Discover monographs covering athletic performance topics, including possible chemicals in supplements.
- Comparative Effectiveness: Find a chart for a specific condition to review natural medicines and therapies that are effective for that condition.
- Manufacturers: Search commercial product manufacturers or distributors for current and historical formulations.
- Commercial Products: Review commercial dietary supplement products across the globe, including details on effectiveness, safety, potential interactions, and adverse events.
- Fixed Herbal Combinations: Explore over 200 fixed herbal combination products used in Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM).
Use the Tools
- Interaction Checker: Review interactions between drugs and supplements and determine their clinical significance by selecting multi-ingredient supplement products from the Commercial Products database (see above).
- Nutrient Depletion Checker: Discover which nutrients are depleted by prescription and over-the-counter medications and determine their clinical relevance.
- Effectiveness Checker: Search a medical condition to compare and review the effectiveness of natural medicines and integrative therapies for that condition.
- Charts: Select a substance classification to see all related topics, including special resource charts for quick summaries on popular topics.
- Advisories: Use this tool to stay up to date with Advisory lists, such as the FDA Advisory and COVID-19 Advisory lists.
Reading a list of summaries is less beneficial than exploring the database on your own. If you have any questions as you search the database, click the Ask the Library button on the library website to chat with a human librarian 24/7 or email us at library@saybrook.edu.