Saybrook Library

Overview

The Saybrook Library:

• Provides access to an extensive array of information and research materials.
• Identifies, acquires, and manages access to scholarly information related to all areas of study and research at Saybrook University.
• Provides email, chat (24 x7 x 365), phone, and video-teleconference-based reference, instruction, and one-on-one consultation services.
• Provides the processes and runs the systems to acquire access to research articles and books beyond the borders of our collections through interlibrary loan services.
• Provides in-class and online course-integrated instructional sessions upon request and offers regular and recurring drop-in video-teleconference sessions to support the development and refinement of research strategies and skills.

Electronic Information Resources

With online access to over 90,000 full-text and abstracted journals, over 700,000 academic eBooks, the full-text of the vast majority of dissertations and theses completed in the United States (and many internationally as well), 115,000+ academic-focused streaming videos, as well as tools and platforms to instruct and streamline processes around research and writing, the library is the foundation and the heart of the student research experience at Saybrook University.

A complete list of 300+ databases and other electronic resources may be found in the A-Z Database List.

When research needs call for materials beyond the scope of our robust digital collections, the library offers our Interlibrary Loan Service.  Although our lack of a physical circulating collection of books and journals keeps us from fully participating in interlibrary loan programs, we have article/chapter delivery services to meet this need. Users may request journal articles and single book chapters through the library. These resources, when available from our lending partners, are typically available within 24 hours.

• Eligibility: Currently enrolled students, faculty, and staff can request ILL services. Alumni and external users must seek alternative access.
• Request Submission: Users submit ILL requests through the library’s online request system in OneSearch. Sign-in to OneSearch with Saybrook login credentials is required
• Processing Time: Requests are typically processed within 24 hours. Fulfillment times depend on the lending institution and availability.
• Copyright Compliance: The library ensures that all requests comply with copyright laws and licensing agreements. Requesters must acknowledge copyright terms in the system.
• Delivery: Articles and book chapters are typically delivered electronically in PDF format to the requester's email. 

The library develops its digital collections to support the academic and research needs of its users, prioritizing accessibility, relevance, and cost.

• Selection Criteria: Resources are evaluated based on academic relevance, user demand, licensing terms, cost, and accessibility.
• Formats Acquired: The library acquires e-books, online journals, databases, and open-access resources.
• Faculty and Student Recommendations: Users can submit purchase requests through an online form. Requests are reviewed based on budget and alignment with collection needs and within collection budgets.
• Vendor Negotiations: The library works in partnership with The Community Solution Libraries who negotiate with publishers and consortia to secure cost-effective access to essential resources.
• Deaccessioning: Outdated or low-usage digital resources may be removed based on licensing agreements and relevance.
• Open Access: The library actively supports open-access initiatives.

The library welcomes suggestions for purchases:

The library provides limited access to alumni, ensuring they can continue to benefit from some library resources and services while maintaining priority access for current students and faculty.

Access to E-Resources: Alumni may access open-access online databases and journals. Subscription-based databases will only be available where vendor agreements permit. At present, the vendor agreements in place do not allow alumni use. Changes are updated on the Alumni Library Services Guide.
Library Account: Alumni are permitted to keep their Saybrook email addresses. When the Registrar updates status to Alumni, library accounts are updated and access to subscription content is removed.
Research Assistance: Alumni can request virtual research consultations via email, chat, or video conferencing or may use these services for reference questions.
Interlibrary Loan: Interlibrary loan requests are not permitted.
Workshops and Webinars: Alumni may participate in selected library workshops and events based on availability.
Library Website: Since the library website is public, alumni may use its resources and instructional guides.

Alumni may refer to the Alumni Library Services Guide for more information.

Laura Rice

Library Director

lrice1@saybrook.edu

Kirsten Klinghammer

Part-Time Reference Librarian

kklinghammer@saybrook.edu

The Saybrook Library is part of The Community Solution Library System and additional services and assistance is provided by the consortium.