Unsplash.com Cassidy Philips
Welcome
This research guide contains information on how to use Saybrook library resources for your assignments and research in counseling programs.
For a quick one-stop shopping search, scroll down to the OneSearch box below and enter keywords. While it will not retrieve all library resources, it is a good way to get started in your research.
Library staff are available to assist you further if you need additional help.
Saybrook OneSearch
Visit the Saybrook OneSearch Homepage
Popular Counseling Resources
- Counseling and Therapy in Video Classic (Vol I - II) This link opens in a new windowFormerly Volumes I & II, Classic’s 500+ hours of video provide a firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. The collection features world-renowned therapists such as Albert Ellis, Violet Oaklander, Derald Wing Sue, and John Norcross demonstrating their methods and techniques. Students and faculty will also find documentaries on the human condition, which help with training in skills such as reflection and empathy.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume III This link opens in a new windowFilms about the founders of theory and the progression of practices to today. Volume III illustrates the theoretical models of counseling and psychotherapy as developed by the “giants” in the field such as Viktor Frankl, Albert Bandura, Albert Ellis, Aaron Beck, Virginia Satir, Jay Haley, and Carl Rogers. From there, Volume III emphasizes the evolution of the field by expanding into emerging areas such as social media, veterans, cyberbullying, mindfulness, and neuroscience, all the while examining new techniques and research-informed practice. More than 300 hours of video are available, with 70% of the titles filmed in 2012 or later.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowThe collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
- ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowBroad coverage in the field of education, including assessment and testing. Coverage includes abstracts, citations, and full text.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
The PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
- Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Sociology Source Ultimate provides materials for students studying social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology. Content includes 667 active, full-text, peer-reviewed journals as well as 2,500+ sociology videos from leading providers.
