BrowZine Journal Finder
BrowZine is a tool that lets you browse, read and monitor the latest scholarly journals.
You can:
- Search by subjects to find journals that are relevant to you
- Find your favorite journal by title in the A-Z list
- Review current table of contents or read full text
- Be alerted when new editions of journals are published
- Create a personal bookshelf of favorite journals
- Easily save to Zotero, Mendeley, Dropbox and other services for pdf collecting and notetaking
Counseling Journals
Subject areas of journals in the Saybrook Library via BrowZine:
Selected Journals:
Recommended Journal Article Databases
The databases in this section are recommended for psychology and counseling articles. Yes, there are many databases that will have related resources since some topics just do not fit into one neat category but these are best bets.
- Annual Reviews Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews of primary research literature in the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. Coverage of significant developments is provided in volumes for more than 40 focused disciplines within those broad areas, including psychology, medicine, nutrition, sociology, neuroscience and more.
- Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works This link opens in a new windowCounseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works is a searchable collection containing real transcripts of counseling and therapy sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowThe collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
- Elsevier Science Direct Collections [Combined] (Health Sciences, Neuroscience, and Psychology) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 1,500 journals in the Health Sciences, Psychology, and Neurosciences. Full-text coverage includes current and four years back. Search capability and access to abstracts for all journals on the Science Direct platform.
- ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowBroad coverage in the field of education, including assessment and testing. Coverage includes abstracts, citations, and full text.
- Psychology & Counseling This link opens in a new windowThe database presents an extensive array of content -- both video and text-based -- that includes therapy sessions, documentaries, interviews, keynote presentations, transcripts, client narratives and psychological experiments. The content covers a vast range of client issues such as addiction, autism, depression, grief, obsessive compulsive disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, and suicide. It also highlights the psychology behind human behavior with studies on conformity, power, obedience, responsibility, aggression, and conditioning.
- Psychology Database (Formerly known as ProQuest Psychology Journals) This link opens in a new windowThe database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
The PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
- Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Sociology Source Ultimate provides materials for students studying social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology. Content includes 667 active, full-text, peer-reviewed journals as well as 2,500+ sociology videos from leading providers.
- Taylor & Francis Social Sciences, Humanities and Medicine Collections This link opens in a new window
The collection provides access to over 1,400 must-have online journals from Routledge, the pioneering social science and humanities publisher. Disciplines include Behavioral Science, Psychology, Education, Mental Health & Social Care, Arts & Humanities, Criminology & Law, Business, Management & Economics, and Anthropology.
- Wiley Online Core Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
The database provides access to over 1,400 multi-disciplinary journal titles that from the key imprints Wiley, Wiley-VCH, Jossey-Bass, and from hundreds of scholarly and professional societies. Subjects include Psychology, Social and Behavioral Sciences, Medicine, Life Sciences, Health Care, Law and Criminology, and much more.
