Libraries: Saybrook Transformative Social Change Guide: Reference, Datasets and Statistics

Recommended Reference Databases

SAGE Data
Explore a vast collection of US and international statistics in Data Planet Statistical Datasets. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.
Harvard Dataverse Repository
The Harvard Dataverse Repository is a free data repository open to all researchers from any discipline, both inside and outside of the Harvard community, where you can share, archive, cite, access, and explore research data. Each individual Dataverse collection is a customizable collection of datasets (or a virtual repository) for organizing, managing, and showcasing datasets.
HealthData.gov
This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for al
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.
QuickFacts
From the U.S. Census Bureau. Quick, easy access to facts about people, business and geography.
Roper Center For Public Opinion Research
Public Opinion Research Repository. Through the maintenance of the world’s largest archive of survey data, and through its programs, presentations, and advanced research, the Roper Center strives to improve the practice of survey research and the use of survey data in the United States and abroad.
SAGE Research Methods Datasets
An add-on to SAGE Research Methods, the database provides access to over 350 datasets using data from real research, designed to support the teaching and independent learning of data analysis techniques.

Data Websites

Google Datasets
Find references to many datasets in environmental and social sciences, as well as data from other disciplines including government data and data provided by news organizations.
U.S. Census Bureau Data
Data dissemination platform to access demographic and economic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
U.S. Census Data Tutorials
These tutorials are from the U.S. Census Bureau and will help with navigating the database.
United Nations Statistics Division
The United Nations Statistics Division is committed to the advancement of the global statistical system. We compile and disseminate global statistical information, develop standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries' efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems. We facilitate the coordination of international statistical activities and support the functioning of the United Nations Statistical Commission as the apex entity of the global statistical system.

UNdata
The United Nations's statistical database that includes data published by the UN and its affiliates

"Wide range of economic, social, cultural, and demographic indicators: population, environment, health, economics, technology, trade, refugees, and more. Includes selected (not comprehensive) data from many international organizations, including the UNDP, UNESCO, FAO, WHO, the ILO and more."

World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to global development data.

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series
PUMS-CPS is a project dedicated to integrating and disseminating data from the Current Population Survey.
Quick Facts
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.

General Social Survey Data Explorer
Since 1972, the General Social Survey (GSS) has been monitoring societal change and studying the growing complexity of American society. GSS Data Explorer, from NORC at the University of Chicago, makes it easier than ever to use the data collected by the GSS.
Homelessness Data
These raw data sets contain Point-in-Time (PIT) estimates and national PIT estimates of homelessness as well as national estimates of homelessness by state and estimates of chronic homelessness from 2007 - 2022. Estimates of homeless veterans are also included beginning in 2011. The accompanying Housing Inventory Count (HIC) data is available as well from 2007 - 2021.
Kids Count Data Center
KIDS COUNT® is a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation and a premier source of data on children and families. Each year, the Foundation produces a comprehensive report — the KIDS COUNT Data Book — that assesses child well-being in the United States. The indicators featured in the Data Book are also available in the Data Center.
World Values Survey
The WVS consists of nationally representative surveys conducted in almost 100 countries which contain almost 90 percent of the world’s population, using a common questionnaire. The WVS is the largest non-commercial, cross-national, time series investigation of human beliefs and values ever executed, currently including interviews with almost 400,000 respondents.

Key Statistics - Bureau of Justice Statistics
Statistics, data and charts for crime, victims and correction facilities and inmates.
Uniform Crime Reporting Program of the FBI
The UCR Program generates reliable statistics for use in law enforcement. It also provides information for students of criminal justice, researchers, the media, and the public. The program has been providing crime statistics since 1930.
The UCR Program includes data from more than 18,000 city, university and college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies. Agencies participate voluntarily and submit their crime data either through a state UCR program or directly to the FBI's UCR Program.

FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
US economic time series data from the Federal Reserve Bank.

A database of over 3000 U.S. economic time series which can be downloaded in Microsoft Excel and text formats and viewed as charts of data series. Categories of data include banking, consumer price indexes (CPI), gross domestic product (GDP), employment and population and more.

International Monetary Fund Data
Time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators.
OECD StatExtracts
OECD.Stat includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
Panel Study of Income Dynamics
The Panel Study of Income Dynamics - PSID - is the longest running longitudinal household survey in the world. Includes employment, income, wealth, expenditures, health, marriage, childbearing, child development, philanthropy, education, and numerous other topics.
Survey of Income and Program Participation
SIPP collects data and measures change for many topics including: economic well-being, family dynamics, education, assets, health insurance, childcare, and food security.
USDA Economic Research Service
USDA reports and data on many topics related to food and agriculture.

Climate Data Online
NCEI is the world’s largest provider of weather and climate data. Enter name of city, county, state, country or other geographic location. ZIP codes and FIPS identifiers are also valid.

Add Health
Data from a longitudinal study. The population is a nationally representative sample of over 20,000 adolescents who were in grades 7-12 during the 1994-95 school year and have been followed for five waves to date, most recently in 2016-18.

CDC Data & Statistics
Popular tools and topics from the Centers for Disease Control.
CDC Reproductive Health Statistics
CDC's Division of Reproductive Health (DRH) monitors maternal and infant mortality, the most serious reproductive health complications. In addition, attention is focused on gathering data to better understand the extent of maternal and infant morbidity, adverse behaviors during pregnancy, and long-term consequences of pregnancy.
Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health
A project of the child and adolescent health measurement initiative.
Kaiser Family Foundation State Health Facts
More than 800 up-to-date health indicators at the state level can be mapped, ranked, and downloaded.
MedlinePlus Health Statistics
National Institutes of Health - Health Resources Data
Demographics, census, and vital statistics.
Office of Minority Health Resource Center
Minority health resources from the US Department of Health and Human Services.