Library Director
Featured Database
- ProQuest One Psychology This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Psychology is a comprehensive and user-friendly resource designed to support the unique needs of the psychology and counseling curricula across research, teaching, and learning. This expertly curated multi-format collection reimagines the research experience for the discipline and supports multiple learning styles with essential, authoritative content spanning scholarly journals, therapy videos, and counseling transcripts, with articles, news, and eBooks covering psychological conditions, therapy, research concepts, tests, and more.
Welcome
This research guide contains information on how to use Saybrook library resources for your assignments and research in psychology and counseling disciplines, including humanistic psychology and clinical psychology as well as counseling degree programs.
For a quick one-stop shopping search, scroll down to the OneSearch box below and enter keywords. While it will not retrieve all library resources, it is a good way to get started in your research.
Library staff are available to assist you further if you need additional help.
Saybrook OneSearch
Visit the Saybrook OneSearch Homepage
Popular Psychology and Counseling Resources
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
The PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
- PsycTherapy This link opens in a new window
APA PsycTherapy provides therapy demonstration videos specifically developed to enable viewers to observe how therapists spontaneously use different approaches and techniques in practice. The videos provide examples of some of the most renowned therapists working with participants on a host of therapy topics. The more than 550 videos in APA PsycTherapy feature searchable word-for-word transcripts that scroll in sync with the video playback. All videos have also been coded with searchable and browsable index terms and other information about participants, clinical demonstration content, and therapeutic approaches demonstrated by each video. APA PsycTherapy also provides powerful search, clip-making, and playlist capabilities.
- MEDLINE Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text database of biomedical and health journals, providing full text for thousands of top medical journals with cover-to-cover indexing. MEDLINE Ultimate uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings, and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals. The database covers an extensive range of subjects including biomedicine, pre-clinical science, health policy development and much more.
- Diagnosing Mental Disorders: DSM-5™ and ICD-10 This link opens in a new windowThe DSM-5™ and ICD-10 are the required manuals for diagnosing mental illness. The videos in this collection examine various characteristics, diagnoses, co-morbidities, and differential diagnoses using the DSM-5™ and the ICD-10. Each program focuses on a specific disorder and includes dramatic scenarios to demonstrate the disorder and its symptoms.
- National Institute of Mental HealthSeeks to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research. Provides information on outreach, health and education, and research and funding.
- PsychCentralMental health social network, identifies online resources and indexes over 180 online support groups.