DSM-5-TR
We have the DSM-5-TR and you can conveniently access it at the link below. If you search for DSM in OneSearch, you may get many articles, reviews and ebooks that reference the DSM but are not the manual itself. If you search using OneSearch, filter your search for Books and then enter DSM-5-TR to go to the manual itself.
Featured eBooks from the Saybrook Library
Positive Psychology in the Clinical Domains
This book builds the bridge between the fields of clinical and positive psychology research and practice. It presents a variety of interventions aimed at promoting positivity in clinical populations. Although clinical psychology has addressed issues such as happiness, resilience and optimal functioning, the field has stuck to the medical model and paid more attention to distress and negativity in human existence. Positive psychology, on the other hand, has been considered a "psychology for all" and has devoted attention and resources to the investigation of positivity in general populations, Only recently, the relationships between positivity, distress and psychopathology have been investigated. This book integrates research and practice from both fields.
The Handbook of Humanistic Psychology
The Second Edition of the cutting edge work, The Handbook of Humanistic Psychology, by Kirk J. Schneider, J. Fraser Pierson and James F. T. Bugental, represents the very latest scholarship in the field of humanistic psychology and psychotherapy. Set against trends inclined toward psychological standardization and medicalization, the handbook offers a rich tapestry of reflection by the leading person-centered scholars of our time. Their range in topics is far-reaching--from the historical, theoretical and methodological, to the spiritual, psychotherapeutic and multicultural.
Resituating Humanistic Psychology
Illustrating how the field of psychology has veered from its initial conception, Whitehead and Groth trace its growth from the late 1800s to the humanistic revolution of the 1960s to the current period of social unrest. They touch on Wilhelm Wundt's and William James's vision for the field; the lasting changes made to clinical psychology, methods of investigation, and psychology of learning in the 1960s; and the effects of isolation, extreme connectivity, and social politics on psychology today. Recommended for scholars and students of psychology, history, and philosophy.
Alan Watts - In the Academy
To commemorate the 2015 centenary of the birth of Alan Watts (1915-1973), the authors have assembled a collection of Watts's scholarly essays and lectures. Compiled from professional journals, monographs, scholarly books, conferences, and symposia proceedings, the volume sheds valuable light on the developmental arc of Watts's thinking about language and mysticism, Buddhism and Zen, Christianity, comparative religion, psychedelics, and psychology and psychotherapy. This definitive collection challenges Watts's reputation as a "popularizer" or "philosophical entertainer," revealing his concerns to be much more expansive and transdisciplinary than is suggested by the parochial "Zen Buddhist" label commonly affixed to his writings.
Introduction to Transpersonal Psychology
Introduces students and instructors to contemporary developments of the field and anticipates future advances - Suitable as a core text for Transpersonal Psychology/Humanistic Psychology modules, or as a supplementary text for core Psychology modules.
Practical Ethics for Psychologists
The 4th edition of this seminal book, guided by the APA Ethics Code and a social justice perspective, shows psychologists how to achieve higher standards of ethical practice in their everyday work. Advocating a positive, proactive approach to ethics, the authors go beyond the minimal ethical requirements in clinical practice, research, education, forensic psychology, consultation, and other areas. Through vivid case examples, they explore ethical dilemmas that psychologists must face regarding issues including informed consent, confidentiality, maintaining competence, and protecting the welfare of clients and society at large. Psychologists will learn how to collaborate with and empower patients, research subjects, students, and others impacted by their work, ensuring that they are actively engaged in ethical decisions.
The Cambridge Handbook of Research Methods in Clinical Psychology
This book integrates philosophy of science, data acquisition methods, and statistical modeling techniques to present readers with a forward-thinking perspective on clinical science. It reviews modern research practices in clinical psychology that support the goals of psychological science, study designs that promote good research, and quantitative methods that can test specific scientific questions. It covers new themes in research including intensive longitudinal designs, neurobiology, developmental psychopathology, and advanced computational methods such as machine learning. This is a foundational resource that supports the methodological training of the current and future generations of clinical psychological scientists.
Writing Dissertations and Theses in Psychology
This accessible guide equips students to succeed in their master's thesis or doctoral dissertation in psychology. The authors provide concrete assistance to the myriad tasks and requirements that students will encounter as they plan, conduct, and present their dissertation or thesis research. Drawing upon their many years of experience in working with graduate students, the authors address the multiple stages of the dissertation and thesis process. They take you through drafting the proposal, the advisor-advisee relationship, interacting with committee members, the writing process, handling obstacles, and the final presentation. Chapters provide guidance on using a research team, collecting data, conducting a literature review, and even acquiring financial support. Finally, students will find additional resources such as practical information on copyright issues, research methods, case analyses, and teleconferencing.
Recommended eBook Databases
- Ebook Central Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThe database provides access to a large selection of authoritative, scholarly eBooks in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSearch and view the full text of eBooks.
- Encyclopedia of Psychology (in PsycBOOKS) This link opens in a new windowPart of PsycBOOKS database which features full text of approximately 500 APA titles in PDF format with copyright dates from 1953 to 2003. PsycBOOKS also includes the official Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms as found in PsycINFO.
- Handbook of Humanistic Psychology: Theory, Research, and Practice (2nd Ed.) This link opens in a new windowThis 2014 second edition of the Hanbook of Humanistic Psychology is edited by Kirk Schneider, J. Fraser Pierson, and James Bugental. In individually authored chapters, and nearly 800 pages, the following content is covered: A)- Historical Overview; B)- Humanistic Theory; C)- Humanistic Methodology; D)- Humanistic Applications to Practice; E)- Humanistic Applications to Broader Settings; F)- Looking Back and Looking Forward.
- JSTOR Books @ TCS Education System Libraries This link opens in a new windowOver 40,000 JSTOR eBook titles are now available for access at TCS Education System Libraries through an Evidence-Based Acquisition (EBA) inter-library and consortial sponsored collaborative program for a period beginning August 2019 and ending August 2022.
JSTOR eBook collections include titles from leading academic publishers from around the world, including university presses, public policy organizations, and independent presses. - PsycBooks This link opens in a new window
This database is a full-text collection of over 1600 books published by APA. Classic books from other publishers are also included, along with over 1,500 authored entries from the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.
- Springer eBook Collection in Behavioral Sciences and Psychology This link opens in a new window
This collection includes over 3.600 books and reference works published from 2005 to 2017. Among them are, Encyclopedia of Cognitive Behavior Therapy, Drug and Alcohol Abuse (6th ed.), Handbook of Race-Ethnicity and Gender in Psychology, Fundamentals of Forensic Practice, Handbook of Urban Health, and many more.
Suggested eBook Search Strategy
Saybrook purchases eBooks and depending on the publisher and other factors, they may end up in one database or another and you may not know exactly which database they are in.
A preferred method for locating books is to use OneSearch but to start by limiting the search to Books and then typing in the keyword, title, or other identifying information. If you know the exact title of a book, put it in quotation marks to search the exact title.
If your search is unsuccessful, please contact us and we may be able to help locate it. Also, remember that you cannot request complete physical books or eBooks through Interlibrary Loan but you may request single chapters.
Here is an example of a book topic search in OneSearch:
Here is an example of a book title search in OneSearch using quotation marks:
