Instructor:
Mark L. Siegal, New York University, Biology
The content in this course is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.
OER Metafinder Search Tool
Explore the OER spotlight resources below or search for additional resources with the Mason OER Metafinder
Featured Open Textbooks: Nursing and Medicine
Anatomy and Physiology by Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the yearlong Human Anatomy and Physiology course taught at most two- and four-year colleges and universities to students majoring in nursing and applied health. A&P is 29 chapters of pedagogically effective learning content, organized by body system, and written at an audience-appropriate level. The lucid text, strategically constructed art, inspiring career features, and links to external learning tools address the critical teaching and learning challenges in the course. -OpenStaxClinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care by
This open educational resource (OER) was developed to ensure best practice and quality care based on the latest evidence, and to address inconsistencies in how clinical health care skills are taught and practised in the clinical setting. The checklist approach, used in this textbook, aims to provide standardized processes for clinical skills and to help nursing schools and clinical practice partners keep procedural practice currentThe Complete Subjective Health Assessment by
This textbook is designed for the novice learner who is seeking to develop a foundational understanding of the complete subjective health assessment in the context of health and illness. The textbook deconstructs the categories of the complete subjective health assessment, providing learners with explanations and examples of what constitutes relevant subjective data.
Health Case Studies Subtitle:Toward Closing the Healthcare Communication Gap by Health Case Studies is composed of eight separate health case studies. Each case study includes the patient narrative or story that models the best practice (at the time of publishing) in healthcare settings. Associated with each case is a set of specific learning objectives to support learning and facilitate educational strategies and evaluation.
Human Anatomy Lab Manual by This is a lab manual for a college-level human anatomy course. Mastery of anatomy requires a fair amount of memorization and recall skills. The activities in this manual encourage students to engage with new vocabulary in many ways, including grouping key terms, matching terms to structures, recalling definitions, and written exercises.
Human Physiology by This text was featured on Wikibooks because it contains substantial content and is well-formatted. It features sections on all traditional topics of human physiology and contains well-produced graphics. All but a few sections contain their own glossary of terms and review questions.
This text is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License.
Innovative Lesson Plans for Active Learning: Teaching Nursing Research and Evidence-Based PracticeInnovative Lessons Plans for Active Learning: Teaching Research and Evidence-Based Practice is a resource in research and evidence-based practice for active learning in the undergraduate nursing classroom. It is meant to supplement any nursing research text. Designed to provide educators with creative teaching ideas, this text includes a variety of lessons on nursing research topics
Introduction to Clinical Biochemistry - Interpreting Blood Results by Sign up to read or download. This book is a concise introduction to the common blood tests and concepts used in pathology. It is aimed at undergraduate students reading medicine, nursing and midwifery and subjects allied to health such as Biomedical Science. However, since the book uses “example boxes” to explain complex terms in lay language, it should also be accessible to patients and people with a non-clinical background but an interest in the subject.
A Laboratory Guide to Clinical Hematology by Provided by Open Education Alberta.Leadership and Influencing Change in Nursing by
Leadership and Influencing Change in Nursing is designed for a single-semester introduction to the professional nurse’s leadership role as both a care provider and a formal leader. Nursing students will take this course in their third year as they prepare to assume a professional nursing role within the clinical health care environment.Literature Reviews for Education and Nursing Graduate Students by
This open textbook is designed for students in graduate-level nursing and education programs. From developing a research question to locating and evaluating sources to writing a sample literature review using appropriate publication guidelines, readers will be guided through the process.
This book has been peer-reviewed by 7 subject experts and is now available for adoption and use in courses or as a library resource.Nursing Care at the End of Life: What Every Clinician Should Know by
Nursing Care at the End of Life: What Every Clinician Should Know should be an essential component of basic educational preparation for the professional registered nurse student.
Open RN by Project funded by the Department of Education to create 5 OER nursing textbooks with virtual reality scenarios. Not available currently, but will be eventually through PressBooks
Principles of Nutrition Textbook, Second EditionThis Open Textbook for Principles of Nutrition was created under a Round Nine ALG Textbook Transformation Grant.
Teaching Health Professionals Online Frameworks and Strategies by Teaching Health Professionals Online is a must-read for professionals in the health care field who strive to deliver excellence in their online classes.n addition to outlining creative, challenging activities with step-by-step directions and explanations of why they work, each chapter in the text situates practice within the context of contemporary educational theories such as instructional immediacy, invitational theory, constructivism, connectivism, transformative learning, and quantum learning theory.
Vital Sign Measurement Across the Lifespan – 1st Canadian editionThe purpose of this textbook is to help learners develop best practices in vital sign measurement. Using a multi-media approach, it will provide opportunities to read about, observe, practice, and test vital sign measurement.
- More Titles from Open Textbook Library
Browse Selected Medicine Titles from Open Textbooks Library - More Titles from OER CommonsBrowse Selected Health, Medicine and Nursing Titles from OER Commons
Interactive Websites and Web Apps
Get Body Smart: Anatomy and PhysiologyGet Body Smart is a fully animated and interactive online textbook about human anatomy and physiology, which is available for free. A tutorial with flash animations on the human systems; part of the Get Body Smart web site (by ConceptCreators, Inc.) called "An Online Examination Human Anatomy and Physiology." Includes skeletal system, musclular system, muscle tissue physiology, nervous system, circulatory system, respiratory system, urinary system, and histology.
Online textbook is in Flash, but there is a version compatible with the iPad and other mobile devices.12 Lead EKG Tutorial by
An interactive multimedia learning activity for healthcare provider students wishing to enhance their knowledge of 12-lead EKG electrode placement on the human body.
Clinical Skills Online by CSO is a project aimed at providing interactive online videos demonstrating core procedural skills common to a wide range of medical and health-based courses. The clinical skills videos on this site have been created at the 'lowest common denominator' level for a host of medical and healthcare related disciplines with a view to share with the wider community. The content has been created and peer-reviewed by a multi-professional team so that it is applicable, with little or no change, to a variety of health-based courses.
iSeek Medical Database Search EngineSeek Medical Database Search Engine is designed for medical clinicians, faculty, and students to save them time in quickly finding high-quality, evidence-based, clinically-based resources for which they are searching. The iSeek Curriculum Intelligent Agent Tool allows medical students to quickly refine and pinpoint relevant, pertinent, and specific information about most medical related topic(s) queried, and also provides them with additional integated medical resources such as lectures, videos, and slides pertaining to the topic(s) queried.
Additional Nursing OER Resources and Repositories
Open Educational Resources for NursingLooking for free online resources about cancer you can use in formal and informal training and education?
Simply click on the topics listed below and you’ll be a provided a list of available resources you can use, read reviews, and organize into your own personal collection. (all links open in a new window)
NIH BookshelfProvides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. Search, read, and discover.
Bio-Wiki Bookshelves by The Bookshelves area in the LibreTexts Library holds texts that are curated by the LibreTexts Development team and can be used either directly or as content for building customized remixes (i.e., texts that are generated from existing content often with customized editing and/or content interspersed) for use in campus Course Shells.
Biology by Video lectures covering topics seen in a first year college biology course including cells and cell division, cellular respiration, photosynthesis and immunology to name a few.
MERLOTMERLOT is a collection of online resources curated by a community of faculty, staff, and students of higher education. This subset of the MERLOT collection features openly licensed textbooks for use by students and faculty. MERLOT allows its users to rate materials and comment on specific resources.
Lecture Videos
|
These lectures from the MIT Biology Department cover the fundamental principles of biochemistry, genetics, molecular biology, and cell biology. Biological function at the molecular level is particularly emphasized and covers the structure and regulation of genes, as well as, the structure and synthesis of proteins, how these molecules are integrated into cells, and how these cells are integrated into multicellular systems and organisms. In addition, each version of the subject has its own distinctive material. Lecturers: Prof. Eric Lander, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Biology Prof. Robert Weinberg, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Biology Dr. Claudette Gardel, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Biology Prof. Andrew Chess, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Biology Use of the MIT OpenCourseWare site and materials is subject to their Creative Commons License and other terms of use. |
 |
|
General Biology Lecture - General introduction to cell structure and function, molecular and organismal genetics, animal development, form and function. Lecturers: Jennifer A Doudna, UC Berkeley, Molecular and Cell Biology Nipam Patel, UC Berkeley, Molecular and Cell Biology Gary L. Firestone, UC Berkeley, Molecular and Cell Biology Michael Meighan, UC Berkeley, Molecular and Cell Biology
|
 |
|
General introduction to plant development, form, and function; population genetics, ecology, and evolution. Intended for students majoring in the biological sciences, but open to all qualified students. Lecturers: Alan Shabel, UC Berkeley, Museum of Paleontology Bruce G. Baldwin, UC Berkeley, Integrative Biology John P. Huelsenbeck, UC Berkeley, Integrative Biology The use of UC Berkeley site and materials is subject to their Creative Commons License and other terms of use.
|
 |
|
Genomes and Diversity -New York University Millions of species of animals, plants and microbes inhabit our planet. Genomics, the study of all the genes in an organism, is providing new insights into this amazing diversity of life on Earth. We begin with the fundamentals of DNA, genes and genomes. We then explore microbial diversity, with an emphasis on how genomics can reveal many aspects of organisms, from their ancient history to their physiological and ecological habits. We follow with examinations of animal and plant diversity, focusing on domesticated species, such as dogs and tomatoes, as examples of how genomic methods can be used to identify genes that underlie new or otherwise interesting traits. Genomics has also transformed the study of human diversity and human disease. We examine the use of DNA to trace human ancestry, as well as the use of genomics as a diagnostic tool in medicine. With the powerful new technologies to study genomes has come an increased power to manipulate them. We conclude by considering the societal implications of this ability to alter the genomes of crop plants, livestock and potentially humans. -New York University |
 |