Library Resources as Course Readings
Using library resources within your course as required or optional readings is another method, alongside Open Educational Resources (OER), to provide access to resources at no cost to students. TCS Education System Libraries collections provide access to more than 450,000 eBooks, 150,000 eJournals, and over 330 databases that contain articles, streaming media, and more. Browse the list of the libraries' Shared Electronic Resources or search the library catalog at your local library to find resources on your subject of interest.
There are many ways to find eBooks. Searching the local library catalog might be your best option. You might be able to search by title, author, subject, or keyword. You can also browse our eBook Collections on our Shared A to Z Electronic Resources page or our featured database list below.
- eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary academic collection of more than 150,000 eBooks. Printing is limited to 60 pages. Downloading of an eBook requires the setting up of a personal account and the downloading of Adobe Digital Editions.
- Ebook Central Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThe database provides access to a large selection of authoritative, scholarly eBooks in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
- eBook Nursing Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowDesigned for use in hospitals, medical institutions and academic institutions with nursing or allied health programs, this subscription collection features more than 450 hand-selected, quality e-books that focus on the needs of nursing professionals, including clinical guides, evidence-based practice manuals, practical handbooks and professional growth titles.
- JSTOR Books @ TCS Education System Libraries This link opens in a new windowOver 40,000 JSTOR eBook titles are now available for access at TCS Education System Libraries through an Evidence-Based Acquisition (EBA) inter-library and consortial sponsored collaborative program for a period beginning August 2019 and ending August 2022.
JSTOR eBook collections include titles from leading academic publishers from around the world, including university presses, public policy organizations, and independent presses. - Ovid Nursing eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to over 140 core nursing and allied health texts in an unlimited simultaneous user format. Login to the Ovid site, and choose Books from the main navigation menu.
- PsycBooks This link opens in a new window
This database is a full-text collection of over 1600 books published by APA. Classic books from other publishers are also included, along with over 1,500 authored entries from the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.
- PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
PsychiatryOnline is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-V®—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, the most trusted and respected name in psychiatric publishing.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
SAGE Knowledge is the ultimate social sciences digital library for students, researchers, and faculty. Hosting more than 6,100 titles, the database includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, and professional development titles. The content integrates seamlessly with the library’s SAGE video subscriptions.
- Springer eBook Collection in Behavioral Sciences and Psychology This link opens in a new window
This collection includes over 3.600 books and reference works published from 2005 to 2017. Among them are, Encyclopedia of Cognitive Behavior Therapy, Drug and Alcohol Abuse (6th ed.), Handbook of Race-Ethnicity and Gender in Psychology, Fundamentals of Forensic Practice, Handbook of Urban Health, and many more.
As with Books and eBooks, there are many ways to find Articles and eJournal titles. You can search your local library catalog (visit your local library for specific instructions), or you can use our shared Citation Search service to locate resources across multiple databases. If you know the title of your journal or want to browse our eJournal titles, please use our Browse Journals service or explore our featured databases list below.
- Annual Reviews Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews of primary research literature in the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. Coverage of significant developments is provided in volumes for more than 40 focused disciplines within those broad areas, including psychology, medicine, nutrition, sociology, neuroscience and more.
- ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Academic is the best destination for multidisciplinary research, teaching and learning. It brings together more than 250 years of authoritative, curated content available across every discipline and format to one place. It encompasses entirety of four resources many researchers and libraries rely upon: ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, ProQuest Dissertation & Theses Global and Academic Video Online, creating a seamless user experience for researchers at all levels.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals. Many titles go back to volume 1, issue 1.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
The PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
- SAGE Online Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journal publisher. Their portfolio includes more than 700 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.
- Taylor & Francis Social Sciences, Humanities and Medicine Collections This link opens in a new window
The collection provides access to over 1,400 must-have online journals from Routledge, the pioneering social science and humanities publisher. Disciplines include Behavioral Science, Psychology, Education, Mental Health & Social Care, Arts & Humanities, Criminology & Law, Business, Management & Economics, and Anthropology.
- Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. Search results can be sorted in order of Times Cited to see the most important articles first. This is not a Full Text Database. Some items covered by this database are not currently available in full text but may be requested through inter-library loan.
- Wiley Online Core Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
The database provides access to over 1,400 multi-disciplinary journal titles that from the key imprints Wiley, Wiley-VCH, Jossey-Bass, and from hundreds of scholarly and professional societies. Subjects include Psychology, Social and Behavioral Sciences, Medicine, Life Sciences, Health Care, Law and Criminology, and much more.
TCS Education System Libraries subscribe to over 100,000 Video Streaming titles. Browse all our Streaming Videos databases on our Shared Resources pages or explore the featured databases below.
- Academic Video Online Premium This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online: Premium consists of more than 70,000 streaming video titles spanning a wide range of subjects including art, anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
- Business Education in Video This link opens in a new windowBusiness Education in Video features executive interviews, corporate training video, case studies, How To features and documentary films that focus on all aspects of the global business environment.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video, Volume IV This link opens in a new windowVolume IV is tied to prevalent issues in counseling, such as the rise in cases involving underserved populations, racial trauma victims and veterans suffering from PTSD, as well as the compassion fatigue experienced by counselors themselves. This volume delivers content aligned with the CACREP eight common core areas and introduces the DSM‑5® and ICD-10. Addressing topics such as psychopharmacology, neuroscience, LGBTQ, and research methods for courses in counseling, social work, or psychology, Volume IV is an ideal supplement for in-class lectures and homework assignments. The only multimedia collection of the four counseling volumes, Volume IV includes both video and text to further enhance teaching, learning, and research opportunities
- Counseling and Therapy in Video, Volume V, The Symptom Media Collection This link opens in a new windowComprehensive DSM-5® / ICD-10 coverage has built-in assessments to assess comprehension. Ideal for counseling, psychology, social work, nursing and other behavioral healthcare courses, Volume V helps students better recognize mental health disorders and provide accurate diagnoses via 400+ streaming mental health videos aligned to DSM-5®/ICD-10 content. The films in this vast collection range from 30 seconds to 15 minutes and are easily integrated into courses and lectures, used for homework assignments, or for sparking class discussion. Volume V also provides assessment options for faculty.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume III This link opens in a new windowFilms about the founders of theory and the progression of practices to today. Volume III illustrates the theoretical models of counseling and psychotherapy as developed by the “giants” in the field such as Viktor Frankl, Albert Bandura, Albert Ellis, Aaron Beck, Virginia Satir, Jay Haley, and Carl Rogers. From there, Volume III emphasizes the evolution of the field by expanding into emerging areas such as social media, veterans, cyberbullying, mindfulness, and neuroscience, all the while examining new techniques and research-informed practice. More than 300 hours of video are available, with 70% of the titles filmed in 2012 or later.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video Classic (Vol I - II) This link opens in a new windowFormerly Volumes I & II, Classic’s 500+ hours of video provide a firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. The collection features world-renowned therapists such as Albert Ellis, Violet Oaklander, Derald Wing Sue, and John Norcross demonstrating their methods and techniques. Students and faculty will also find documentaries on the human condition, which help with training in skills such as reflection and empathy.
- Diagnosing Mental Disorders: DSM-5™ and ICD-10 This link opens in a new windowThe DSM-5™ and ICD-10 are the required manuals for diagnosing mental illness. The videos in this collection examine various characteristics, diagnoses, co-morbidities, and differential diagnoses using the DSM-5™ and the ICD-10. Each program focuses on a specific disorder and includes dramatic scenarios to demonstrate the disorder and its symptoms.
- Kanopy Streaming Collection This link opens in a new window
The database is a streaming video resource with a board collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources. Kanopy’s website makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films across campus.
- Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
Psychotherapy.net consists of over 200 titles of the leading practitioners in the fields of psychotherapy, counseling, social work and addiction treatment demonstrating clinical techniques and discussing their work.
- SAGE Research Methods Video This link opens in a new windowThe database includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. Find videos made with expert researchers from leading research institutions, your favorite SAGE authors, great teachers and more
- SAGE Video Business and Management This link opens in a new window
The Sage Video Business and Management collection provides extensive coverage of global business & management concepts including in-depth interviews with experts from around the world on topics as varied as innovation management, corporate social responsibility, and social media marketing.
- SAGE Video Counseling & Psychotherapy Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection of 136 hours and 420 videos draws upon a vast network of SAGE’s authors and editors. It includes many tutorials, such as Mick Cooper on Empathy and Listening, multiple interviews with leading experts such as Jerrold Lee Shapiro on Existential Psychotherapy and John McLeod on Evidence-Based Practice, along with many more films addressing teaching, learning and practitioner issues.
- SAGE Video: Education Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprised of more than 120 hours and 450 videos, this collection offers a practical view into a full range of teaching settings and situations, from early years to educational leadership, to support students needing to understand theory or how to apply it in practice. Contributors include leading authors Peter Smith on Bullying, Wendy W. Murawski on Co-Teaching, Julia Link Roberts on Gifted and Talented Education, and many more.
- SAGE Video: Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection features 134 hours across more than 400 videos, covering different content types that will help users instruct, learn, think deeply, and become even more curious. See professional psychologists in action, such as forensic psychologists working inside a prison, or clinical psychologists treating patients with a variety of mental health disorders; or venture back to the field’s beginnings via footage of John B. Watson or Muzafer Sherif’s early experiments.
- The Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy This link opens in a new windowThe Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy provides access to the latest research and best practice methods in the fields of counseling, mental health, and psychology through contemporary presentations, lectures, and workshops from renowned counselors, psychologists, and practitioners.
- Videatives Streaming Service This link opens in a new windowVideatives is a growing database of early childhood education videos and clips. According to their website, the word videative [vid´-é-ã-tive] refers to the combination of text and video segments to create an integrated viewing experience (video + narrative = videative). The text explains the video and the video exemplifies the text. Videatives helps educators see what children know™ and thereby help them better support their learning.
