RefWorks Quick Links
- Login to RefWorks Login to your Saybrook RefWorks account.
- RefWorks 2.0 Video Tutorial RefWorks supplies brief online videos for login, navigation, and getting started with the product. These tutorials are brief, easy to follow, and offer a very helpful introduction. For more tutorials and support, see the "HELP" menu inside of RefWorks.
- RefWorks Support Center Find the most up-to-date information and resources for RefWorks including: How to upgrade to the new RefWorks, user guides, training, and more.
- Creating RefWorks Account Learn how to initially create your personal RefWorks account, underneath the sitewide Saybrook subscription account.
Featured eBooks
The Productive Graduate Student Writer by
This book is for graduate students--and others--who want to become more productive writers. It's especially written for those who want to: * increase their motivation, focus, and persistence to move a project to completion * overcome procrastination and perfectionistic tendencies * reduce (or write in spite of) their anxiety and fear of writing * manage their time, work, energy (and advisor) for greater productivity The process or craft of sustained writing is not a matter that's taught to undergraduate or graduate students as part of their studies, leaving most at sea about how to start a practice that is central to a career in academe and vital in many other professional occupations. This book grew out of conversations Jan Allen has held with her graduate students for over 30 years and reflects the fruit of the writing workshops and boot camps she has conducted at three universities, her own and numerous colleagues' experiences with writing and advising, as well as the feedback she receives from her popular Productive Writer listserv. While Jan Allen recognizes that writing is not an innate talent for most of us, she demonstrates that it is a process based on skills which we can identify, learn, practice and refine. She focuses both on the process and habits of writing as well as on helping you uncover what kind of writer are you, and reflect on your challenges and successes. With a light touch and an engaging sense of humor, she proposes strategies to overcome procrastination and distractions, and build a writing practice to enable you to become a more productive and prolific writer. Jan Allen proposes that you read one of her succinct chapters - each devoted to a specific strategy or writing challenge - each day, or once a week. When you find one that increases your concentration, motivation or endurance, make it a habit. Try it for two weeks, charting the resulting increased productivity. It will become part of your repertoire of writing and productivity tools to which you can progressively add.
ISBN: 1620368900Publication Date: 2019-06-24
Writing Resources
The Center for Writing and Academic Success is your best bet for writing, citing and APA assistance but the resources on this page are valuable.
Writing Support Websites
- Annotated BibliographyInformative guide to help with writing an annotated bibliography. Includes sample entry.
- APA Style Blog: How to Cite ChatGPT"In this post, I discuss situations where students and researchers use ChatGPT to create text and to facilitate their research, not to write the full text of their paper or manuscript." -Timothy McAdoo, Author
- Center for Writing and Academic SuccessExplore resources such as writing tutors, proofreaders, editors, and APA and ESL support.
- Cornell Note Taking SystemThe Cornell Note-Taking System was originally developed by Cornell education professor, Walter Pauk. Prof. Pauk outlined this effective note-taking method in his book, How to Study in College.
- How to Recognize PlagiarismLearn how to recognize plagiarism, test your understanding, and earn a certificate from Indiana University-Bloomington.
- Official Editing and Proofreading of Dissertations and ThesesLearn how to prepare your dissertation, thesis, or final degree project, including how to obtain the required editing services to make sure it meets standards for format and style.
- Saybrook Handbook of Format and StyleLearn how to format and style your dissertation, thesis, or final degree project to Saybrook standards.
- Transition to APA 7th EditionExplore changes to APA Style as outlined in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th Edition.
- Turnitin Information for Saybrook StudentsTurnitin can be accessed in the Center for Writing and Academic Success Canvas course shell. Read more about it here.
- Writer's Reference Center This link opens in a new windowThe database provides users with a convenient one-stop location for all of the tools necessary to write and research effectively. From the mechanics of writing and grammar to style and research, this online resource covers the fundamentals of quality writing, provides a wealth of vocabulary-building dictionaries, and presents a step-by-step guide to writing a good essay. The resource also provides an in-depth grammar section, with definitions and examples of use, as well as tools that teach users how best to revise their work.
- Saybrook University's PAS Tool Quick MenuA quick guide list of direct links for the PAS Tool, a competency-based assessment that reveals your self-efficacy and self-regulation strengths and areas for development
- Copyright and Your Dissertation or ThesisBy Kenneth D. Cres, J.D., Ph.D. at Columbia University. This manual is principally intended to help readers learn and understand the copyright issues relevant to doctoral dissertations.
Saybrook Dissertations
You may have heard that the Saybrook library has full-text access to dissertations and theses from around the world in the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global database. We also specifically filtered this database by Saybrook University dissertations and theses which you can find at the link above.
Simply click the database and then search by keyword, subject, author, title, etc. Perhaps you want to browse Saybrook dissertations in your field so you can see firsthand what and how your predecessors wrote.
Refer to the Dissertations of Distinction list below.
- Dissertations of DistinctionAnnual Saybrook University Dissertation with Distinction Awards recognize outstanding original research that demonstrates academic excellence, rigor, and potential contributions to the student’s field.
RefWorks
RefWorks accounts are free for Saybrook community members!
Saybrook University has an active site license for RefWorks in order to provide our community with a fully functioning, and fully supported, reference management solution.
RefWorks allows you to save, organize, deploy, and share references in a variety of ways.
- Collect references from a variety of sources and store them in a single location
- Organize references in folders and sub-folders by topic
- Format and create bibliographies (in APA Style, or other styles)
- Share folders of references with colleagues and project partners
- Insert citations into your papers with Write-N-Cite
Students, Faculty, & Staff: To register for a free account you must use your Saybrook email address (i.e. ****@saybrook.edu), and click on the "Create Account" link, as shown below, from the RefWorks Login Page:
Questions or problems with creating your RefWorks account? See the"How to register for your RefWorks account at Saybrook" handbout below or Email us at: library@saybrook.edu
- How to register for your RefWorks account at Saybrook Discover how to initially create your individual RefWorks account, underneath the Saybrook sitewide subscription to RefWorks.
Other Citation Managers
- Citation ManagersThis guide introduces users to citation management tools and covers RefWorks, Zotero, Mendeley, EndNote, Paperpile, and Papers programs.
- Comparison of reference management software (Wikipedia) Includes tables comparing different "reference management" software solutions. A good way to get an overview of functionality, costs, and options for different solutions.
- MendeleyMendeley is a free (with paid option available for expanded storage) citation and file management application. Using Mendeley (guides & videos) from Mendeley.com
- ZoteroZotero is a free (with a paid option available for expanded storage space) standalone software program that works with Firefox, Chrome and Safari. How to use Zotero (screencasts) from Zotero.
- Zotero DocumentationHow-To guide for using Zotero.
- Zotero DownloadDownload Zotero citation manager here.
- How to Use Zotero (VIDEO)This is a quick but comprehensive video tutorial for learning how to use Zotero.