Internet Archive Scholar
The Internet Archive has recently launched a BETA version of new tool, "Internet Archive Scholar". This is a search engine of 250 million open access research articles, from rare 18th century field notes to conference presentations, or the latest preprint publications.
The non-profit organization, Internet Archive, is building a digital library of internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a physical library, they provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public. Their mission is to provide universal access to all knowledge.
Searching with Google Scholar
To integrate Google Scholar with the library subscriptions, go to Google Scholar and follow this path:
Settings > Library links > Search for TCS > Select TCS Education System - ViewIt at TCSES Libraries > Save.
The guides provide more detailed instructions and information about Google Scholar. The first is a PDF and the second is an online guide.
- Google Scholar SearchThis is an online guide about how to set up your Google Scholar settings to sync with the Saybrook Library. Includes a link to download a Google Scholar browser extension and tips for using Google Scholar.
Getting Started: OneSearch
The Saybrook University community has 24/7 access to a variety of digital information resources. This page provides quick information about how to get started searching.
About OneSearch
OneSearch is a simple search engine that allows you to search simultaneously for articles, eBooks, and more. It's not a complete replacement for searching all the library’s subscription databases, but it is a convenient way to begin. To search directly in a specific database, go to the A-Z Database List.
The OneSearch box is on the homepage of the library website so even if you are not logged into the library, you can search in OneSearch and find results for your search. The key to full usage is to log in with your Saybrook credentials. Establish a habit of logging into your account using the same one you use to access the student portal and all other Saybrook resources such as email and Canvas.
Searching in OneSearch and in any library databases does require trial and error so make time for the task. Scroll down to Using OneSearch and click each tab to view basic instructions for a simple search, an advanced search, searching for journal titles, and searching by DOI (digital object identifier) and PMID (PubMed identifier.)
Using OneSearch
Enter your search term into the OneSearch search box for the quickest way to start in OneSearch. For more options, go directly to the OneSearch homepage by clicking Visit the Saybrook OneSearch Homepage.
The OneSearch homepage outlines the benefits of signing in. Click the Sign in option in the upper right hand corner and enter your Saybrook login credentials.
Once signed in, enter your search term in the search box and click the magnifying glass. In the example below, a search for fibromyalgia returned over 34,000 results (too many!) in a variety of formats.
Search results can be narrowed down using the following techniques:
1) Use the filters under Tweak your results. For example, click Peer-reviewed Journals.
2) Add another search term to the search to zero in more specifically. For example, add and elderly to limit to results about fibromyalgia in elderly patients.
3) Use Advanced Search. Advanced Search allows you to specify your search filters by changing the fields, material type, publication date, etc.
Browse the results list to locate materials relevant to your search. Click the title of a result to view the full index record which includes options to send to a citation manager, print, get a permalink, email, and more. The record also shows how to access the article under View Online. Other parts of the index record show bibliographic information, subject terms, an abstract, and more.
BrowZine is a tool that lets you browse, read and monitor the latest scholarly journals.
Click the JOURNALS A-Z link at the top of the OneSearch homepage:
You can:
- Search by subjects to find journals of interest to you
- Find your favorite journal by title in the A-Z list
- Review current table of contents or read full text
- Be alerted when new editions of journals are published
- Create a personal bookshelf of favorites
- Easily save to Zotero, Mendeley, Dropbox and other services for PDF collecting and notetaking
View the brief video below to learn more.
Our Search by DOI/PMID tool is integrated with our catalog and allows users to search by DOI (Digital Object Identifier) or PMID (PubMed Identifier) and directly link to the article.
Click the SEARCH DOI/PMID (ARTICLES) link at the top of the OneSearch homepage:
Enter the DOI or PMID on the LibKey.io page.
Click one of the options to access the article.
We are sometimes asked, "Are all databases searched when I conduct a search using OneSearch?"
The answer is no. There is a way to find out if a particular database is included in a OneSearch search.
Clicking the A-Z Database List tab on the library website will take you to our list of subscription and open access databases. Each database title is followed by small icons. These icons give you some clues about the database. Here is an example:
This database has five icons after it: a padlock, an open journal, a graph, a newspaper, and a magnifying glass.
- padlock = subscription required (being a currently enrolled student gives you access)
- open journal = articles included
- graph = reports included
- newspaper = newspaper content included
- magnifying glass = database is indexed in OneSearch and therefore, included in a OneSearch search
If you do not see a magnifying glass icon after the title, any articles or other content will NOT show up in your OneSearch search results. You may be missing out on relevant resources so you may want to search directly in these databases. To do so, simply click the title and the database will open.
Click the document below for a list of databases that are not included in a OneSearch search.