Mind-Body Medicine Journals in BrowZine
BrowZine is a service designed to make it easy for researchers to find, read and monitor the latest scholarly journals...a journal finder and manager.
You can search by title or subject area, review current table of contents or read full text of articles, create a personal bookshelf of favorites, and more.
Here are some focused selections by discipline but be sure to explore all the subject areas.
Alternative and Complementary Medicine Journals
Holistic and Integrative Medicine Journals
BrowZine also can be accessed via the Journal Finder link under Quick Links on the library homepage or on the OneSearch Homepage by clicking Journals A-Z.
Recommended Journal Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowThe multidisciplinary database offers an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. Contains over 10,000 full-text journals and magazines as well as over 9,000 full-text peer-reviews journals.
- Alt Health Watch This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text of approximately 180 periodicals focusing on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Coverage includes abstracts, citations, and full text.
- CAM on PubMedContains over 462,000 citations to journal articles related to complementary and alternative medicine (CAM). CAM on PubMed is a subset of all citations found on the NLM's PubMed and offers all of the features and benefits of PubMed.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Ultimate is a comprehensive set of nursing & allied health indexing (also covers biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, and consumer health) with robust full-text coverage for most of their titles. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to inform healthcare decision-making and to inform those receiving care. The library consists of a collection of evidence-based medicine databases that include The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR) , Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) , Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA) , and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED).
- Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new windowThe database offers 24/7 access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices
- MEDLINE Ultimate This link opens in a new windowA leading full-text database of biomedical and health journals, providing full text for thousands of top medical journals with cover-to-cover indexing. MEDLINE Ultimate uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings, and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals. The database covers an extensive range of subjects including biomedicine, pre-clinical science, health policy development and much more.
- New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new windowWith rigorously peer-reviewed research, topical reviews, interactive clinical content, and cases, the New England Journal of Medicine is the trusted source for essential findings in medicine.
Full-text coverage from 1990 to the present. - Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProvides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This versatile database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
- Taylor & Francis Social Sciences, Humanities and Medicine Collections This link opens in a new windowThe collection provides access to over 1,400 must-have online journals from Routledge, the pioneering social science and humanities publisher. Disciplines include Behavioral Science, Psychology, Education, Mental Health & Social Care, Arts & Humanities, Criminology & Law, Business, Management & Economics, and Anthropology.
- Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. Search results can be sorted in order of Times Cited to see the most important articles first. This is not a Full Text Database. Some items covered by this database are not currently available in full text but may be requested through inter-library loan.
Find Dissertations
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (Full-text) This link opens in a new windowThe database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
- Dissertations & Theses @ Saybrook University This link opens in a new windowDissertations and Theses awarded by Saybrook University
The primary source for locating dissertations and theses is the ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global database above and also found in the A-Z Database List. The library also provides a link to those awarded specifically to Saybrook University graduates.
To find dissertations and theses in other databases, filter the A-Z Database List by Dissertations and Theses. Click the database title to search in it. Enter your search terms and filter the search within the database to Dissertation/Thesis under the Document type or Format. Here is an example though different databases will vary as to the exact appearance and wording:
There are other repositories containing dissertations and theses potentially available for borrowing through other institutions so please contact library staff if you need assistance tracking one down. You may also find a dissertation published as an author's first book (often with a similar title) or selected chapters published as articles.
- To find a dissertation published as a book, search for the author at WorldCat.
- To find dissertation findings published as articles, search for the author in one of our journal article databases.
View Saybrook University Dissertations of Distinction by opening the document linked below.
- Dissertations of DistinctionAnnual Saybrook University Dissertation with Distinction Awards recognize outstanding original research that demonstrates academic excellence, rigor, and potential contributions to the student’s field.