Libraries: Writing Resources: Writing a Dissertation or MA Thesis/Project

Writing a Dissertation or MA Thesis/Project

There are various aspects of authoring a dissertation or MA thesis/project that are distinct from writing student papers. Each of these pages explores a different topic as it relates to writing documents that are required to follow the Saybrook Handbook of Format & Style.

Abstracts (Saybrook Handbook)
Abstracts for dissertations or MA theses/projects are required to follow a specific structure and include certain content points. Ensure that you are meeting abstract requirements by following the guidelines presented here.
Appendices (Saybrook Handbook)
Appendices are not required, but many authors opt to use them. If you have appendices in your document, follow the guidelines presented here.
Dissertation Finalization
After you have completed the entire process of writing your dissertation and are about to graduate, you will need to complete the dissertation finalization process as part of degree conferral. Learn more here.
Front Matter
There are specific formatting requirements for the front matter for dissertations and MA theses/projects. Learn more here.
Resources for Writing a Dissertation or Thesis
This page provides a plethora of resources for authoring each chapter of a dissertation. Students are encourage to explore and use what resources work for them!
Saybrook Handbook of Format & Style for Dissertations, Theses, Projects, & Capstones
It is required that all dissertations follow the guidelines provided within this handbook. If there are any conflicts with APA requirements, those presented in the handbook take precedence.